SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 05, 2015, 05:39 PM
Find More Posts by epoxyearl
United States, MD, Elkton
Joined Oct 2011
11,008 Posts
Discussion
B-70 Bomber-370 parkflyer

In 1961, Competition Models Inc. produced a kit of the B-70, for free flight, with a Cox .049 for power..36" long, 21 " wingspan....The parts were silk screened onto the
few balsa sheets that were included, and had to be cut out with your choice of tools..

I bought one, and built it in a couple of evening's work..When I got it to make a long, flat ,nose-high glide, I opined we were ready to go FLYING! Fueled it,started it, and launched it into the heavens....never to be seen again.

That old double standard- sad to lose it, elated that it flew so well !

THIS time, this time -I'm adding a radio... This is my first venture into electrics, and park flyers, so we'll see how it goes.

I'm a well-established builder and flier, since 1961, and I've learned a thing or two, I hope.Mostly Giant scale, glow or gasoline.
epoxyearl is online now Find More Posts by epoxyearl
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Airshows, and Tradition.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 05, 2015, 07:06 PM
Joined Oct 2011
11,008 Posts
I spent the day cutting parts from new wood (I'm reselling the kit), and covered everything with white Monocote.

I had ordered a Suppo 2208-12 1800kv motor, a 20 Amp ESC, and a 11.1 volt,1300mah(3s) 30c Lipo. (recommended by the guys that frequent the "Power system" forum) Thank you.

I'll start with a 7 x 4 prop, and experiment from there. I'm using Ailerons, and the Elevator on the Canard, just because I think it'll be cool.Although the kit doesn't have a radio 'box', I'll build the dummy "engine compartment" to house the electronics. It'll add some protection, and make a nice cooling tunnel for everything.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by epoxyearl; Jul 05, 2015 at 07:20 PM.
Old Jul 06, 2015, 12:03 PM
Find More Posts by jumo004
Joined Apr 2010
410 Posts