HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 25, 2015, 05:05 PM
Joined Nov 2014
758 Posts
Discussion
I can fly my blade 180qx quad very easily, how will I do with a chopper?

Hey everyone, looking to get into choppers. Nothing crazy and this is something I will probably do in my house or back yard. I've flown a few choppers but the modes were with limited banks. I fly my little quadcopter really well both inside and outside the house. So the chopper I was looking at is the blade 120 sr, it's affordable and seems to be a decent performer for the size. What do you guys think?

Also, I'm not a total newbie and I regularly fly rc planes with pretty good skill. Thank you for your time and advice
ApexpretadorGT is online now Find More Posts by ApexpretadorGT
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 25, 2015, 06:07 PM
Chairman of Circular Carnage
United States, WI, Beloit
Joined Nov 2012
4,531 Posts
The 120 SR should be no problem.

It won't handle as much wind as your quads, but will behave similar to them.

Both self-level when you let go of the cyclic.
Steve_ is offline Find More Posts by Steve_
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Getting better with the 200 SRX
Old Mar 25, 2015, 06:24 PM
Joined Nov 2014
758 Posts
Sweet. I was just looking at it at the hobby shop and its a cool little chopper. I'll be picking it up on Friday. You said it won't handle much wind vs the quad, is this because of the fixed pitch blades or the quad has four rotors vs one? I've flown the quad in winds approaching 15 mph but anything stronger and I just find it isn't fun as I'm battling the elements more than enjoying the flight
Old Mar 25, 2015, 07:35 PM
Joined Nov 2012
4,531 Posts
The self leveling on your quads is done electronically, while on the 120 SR
they use mechanical methods (flybar).

The self-leveling mechanical assemblies have limits that don't exist when done
with electronics, and they add extra weight and drag.