Old Mar 30, 2013, 04:46 PM
Find More Posts by boaterguy
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
2,558 Posts
Discussion
Hooking up a monitor to FPV

I've never done anything FPV before, and I'm looking into hooking up my laptop or a standard computer monitor (I'd have to bypass the internal power supply) to the foxtech 200mw 5.8 system.
I know it would probably be simple with a computer monitor once I figured out a way to power it, but how would I do it with a laptop? Can the VGA port take input? How would I convert the NTSC or PAL signal to whatever the protocol is for VGA?
I have experience with arduino and I can write in small basic.
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 30, 2013, 05:17 PM
Find More Posts by Hajile
Philippines, Calabarzon, San Pedro
Joined Jul 2012
5,059 Posts
I haven't tried them myself, but i've seen computer cafes using an analog to vga converter to hook up their playstations to computer monitors. They may be fast since i often see them playing fighting games.

If you're going through the computer. That may be an issue, i have a TV tuner with analog input and there's a considerable latency when you have to pass a video through the USB port because of all the processing it has to do on both ends of the usb cable.

Of course, all the video capturers i've had are just the cheap ones, there may be better models out there. I'm planning on using mine with a netbook to capture flights when i get my fpv gear.
Hajile is offline Find More Posts by Hajile
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Hajile; Mar 30, 2013 at 05:23 PM.
Old Mar 30, 2013, 06:50 PM
Find More Posts by bauerbach
Joined Oct 2012
2,164 Posts
In a nut shell, it wont work.

VGA has its own protocol that involves 5 different signals to display an image. Unlike composite signals where the video signal is singular.