HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 09, 2012, 01:39 AM
Joined Jul 2006
346 Posts
Discussion
Shell Ridge, Walnut Creek, CA

Hi -

I'm just learning to DS. I've been trying Shell Ridge, but most promising DS area (the saddle just past the rocks) has this giant tree offset from the center. Am I in the correct location for this site? Getting a lot of this:
c.walker is offline Find More Posts by c.walker
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 10, 2012, 10:43 AM
Is it DS'able?
United States, CA, Oakland
Joined Feb 2007
2,260 Posts
I can't say exactly, 'cause I was just there for the first time myself (on Wednesday afternoon, 15-20mph and good). But that's where I was flying too... I hiked up to the next section of ridge and there were nothing but trees on the backside so based on that observation and what I could gather off the web this first saddle seems to be the spot... and that tree seems to be the plane eating tree everyone has talked about.
Let me know next time you go out. I just moved to the bay area and I'm looking for places and people to fly with. I'm in Oakland.

-James
DS junkie
wr_mizzard is offline Find More Posts by wr_mizzard
Old Nov 10, 2012, 10:45 AM
Is it DS'able?
Joined Feb 2007
2,260 Posts
I was flying my 3M moldie and definitely didn't want to get in the tree so I was standing at the rocks and flying really deep (the backside here is nice and steep and deep) and flying out as close to myself and as far from the tree as possible. Landing on the steep frontside was almost trickier than the DS, especially with all those hidden rocks.

-James
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:11 AM
Joined Jan 2003
6,929 Posts
You should give the site at the Marin Civic Center a shot. It's got to be the "bunny slope" of DS spots. You have to DS over a line of trees, but the slope is so sharp the layer is fairly high up.

If you want directions let me know.
slopemeno is offline Find More Posts by slopemeno
Old Nov 12, 2012, 11:15 AM
Confirmed Chronic
Pacific Palisades, CA