HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 28, 2012, 02:53 PM
You can't take the sky from me
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined Aug 2011
1,083 Posts
Question
Air hole cut outs on a Electrifly super sportster?

I just won a Electrifly super sportster at a raffle at my club, and this is my first balsa arf, but I have a lot of foamy experience. On the bottom of the fuse leading to the tail, there are a lot of cut out circles decreasing in size. I've seen a few videos that mentioned that it would be good to cut off some covering in that area to allow for good cooling. Would having a few of the circles cut out cause to much drag? Cutting out at least one would also help me with positioning my Rx antenna
copperbricks is offline Find More Posts by copperbricks
to remove ads between posts
Old May 30, 2012, 11:29 PM
Boise, ID
Joined Dec 2008
1,102 Posts
If you're referring to the GP Super Sportster EP, the red and white one, I've had a few of those.

My most recent one came with the holes already open, (I think there are six small holes, about the size of a dime) but I think previous ones might have come with them covered up, and you had to cut out the covering from each of the holes.

They are for enabling cooling air flow of the motor/ESC/battery.

If they are covered with the covering, cut them out. They have zero effect on drag, or anything else.

There's a very extensive thread on this forum for this plane. A bunch of us mod'd the crappy landing gear, among other things. The Great Planes Electrostik has excellent fiberglass landing gear, in the same red color. If you have to land on grass, you pretty much have to get rid of the bendy wire lg and do something else. Tower Hobbies sells the Electrostik landing gear.
tlr-boise is offline Find More Posts by tlr-boise
Last edited by tlr-boise; May 31, 2012 at 11:18 AM.
Old May 31, 2012, 02:52 PM
United States, FL, The Villages
Joined Oct 2010
4,001 Posts