Old Feb 22, 2010, 12:08 AM
Suspended Account
Alaska
Joined Feb 2010
326 Posts
Help!
Oops..I think I messed up

Hi all,
I am new to electric flight and I believe I have all ready messed up my first endeavor/purchase into electric flight:

25A ESC
Motor recomending 25A ESC

From what I can tell, you can pair an ESC with a higher Amp rating than the motor? If this is true, what is the rule behind pairing an ESC to a motor?

Thanks in advance!

Cheers,
Williwaw
Williwaw is offline Find More Posts by Williwaw
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 22, 2010, 01:45 AM
Alberta, Canada
Joined Jan 2008
189 Posts
Id say you would want the max amps your motor can draw with the prop u are using to be around 80% of the max amps of your esc. There's no harm in over doing ur esc as far as i know.
dean_85 is offline Find More Posts by dean_85
Old Feb 22, 2010, 01:53 AM
Plane and multirotor's - FPV
Moss, Norway
Joined Jun 2007
856 Posts
propeller

It's the propeller that determins the amp draw , so pairing motor and propeller tell's you what Esc to get.

Kai
DrEvil is offline Find More Posts by DrEvil
Old Feb 22, 2010, 01:53 AM
Suspended Account
Alaska
Joined Feb 2010
326 Posts
Oh no....
Now I am more confused.

I thought that the ESC prevented the motor from drawing more amperage than it could handle? Hmmm, I wonder how I would pair a motor, propeller and esc when trying to order them. I guess I need to do some more reading on this Thank you for your help all! Any tips on good reading material on this matter?

Cheers,
Williwaw
Last edited by Williwaw; Feb 22, 2010 at 02:00 AM.
Old Feb 22, 2010, 02:16 AM
Crafter of flying plugs
Armidale, NSW
Joined Feb 2007
1,234 Posts
I dont have much to offer in the way of reading but there are plenty of calculators:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606703

I use WebOCalc most of the time:

http://flbeagle.rchomepage.com/

He has a tutorial on using WebOCalc