HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 02, 2014, 06:35 PM
that tree ate my plane
oklahoma city oklahoma
Joined Apr 2004
1,647 Posts
Discussion
micro extra

hi all i have decided to build an extra 260/300 for the guts from my umx sbach. so i started drawing it up in sketchup. i plan on trying out the 3d cutting feature from the sketchucam plugin from phlatboyz and 3d cut the fuse out of extruded polystyrene and then hot wire some wings. so what do you guys think of my design so far? my plan is to make the hatch removable and also the wing since this will be a travel plane for me. as for the hatch my plan was a couple sets of rare earth magnets and probably a single nylon bolt to hold the wing on

wing span-- 17"
motor--2500kv sbach motor
rotccapt is offline Find More Posts by rotccapt
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 03, 2014, 08:15 AM
Surrey, UK
Joined Mar 2002
318 Posts
Looks interesting.
Do you have a CNC mill to cut the foam ? and do you mean expanded polystyrene rather than extruded ? I have seen this sort of thing done using blue foam (the home insulation stuff) and it looked great.

Good luck with it,
Rob
RobT is offline Find More Posts by RobT
Old Jun 03, 2014, 08:52 AM
that tree ate my plane
oklahoma city oklahoma
Joined Apr 2004
1,647 Posts
Yes I do have a CNC router. I will be using the blue insulation foam for the build. I have the design work done but I need to fix my dremel before I can start. I may start working on the wings through since I have never cut a set of wings
Old Jun 04, 2014, 10:41 PM
that tree ate my plane
oklahoma city oklahoma
Joined Apr 2004
1,647 Posts
well i have all the parts designed and laid out to be cut and have the code written. next up is make the templates for the wings and then once i fix my dremel i can start cutting parts.
Old Jun 05, 2014, 08:03 AM
Surrey, UK
Joined Mar 2002
318 Posts
Nicely done. I assume you mill the uderside first.

Rob
RobT is offline Find More Posts by RobT
Old Jun 05, 2014, 08:44 AM