HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 04, 2012, 03:55 PM
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Sep 2012
11 Posts
Discussion
CX2 or MCX2

I am very new to the sport having flown Syma 107g and it's Cobra counterpart. I have very good control over them both. I have an aviation background, but besides the two Syma's no RC experience.

I feel the need to gradually work my way up the ladder to true collective pitch Helicopters, but am NOT ready yet and I want to do this gradually. From all I've heard the difference between the real thing and the RC is quite substantial and I really want to do the right thing. I'm willing to be patient for the set skills needed to make the various transitions

My question is based on looking around these and other BB's the consensus seems to be that Blade makes VERY good coaxials with another 4th channel. I feel this would a good first step. I plan on some flying indoors and very minor outside in dead calm conditions.

I was hoping for an honest assessment of the following two Blade coaxials.
CX2 or MCX2

I'm hoping for something that will be easy to fix and durable, and that flys rock solid.

Thanks in advance, any input (good or bad) is appreciated.
Sinloi is offline Find More Posts by Sinloi
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 04, 2012, 05:43 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
20,706 Posts
MCX2 is very durable and quite precise handling. But, it's slow and gets boring rather quickly. It's biggest flaw is it doesn't give you a realistic sense for heli physics. The CX2 is much bigger and heavier and has a much more realistic feel. But, it's not nearly as durable and requires a few mods to help in that area. It will teach you more. Any heli you buy will require you to unlearn the bad things a 3 channel taught you.