HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 07, 2013, 11:15 AM
Joined May 2011
7 Posts
Discussion
Gmade R1 - Lipo instead of Nicd?? Help??

Hello all - I am a newbie to crawling and have been out of surface RC for a few years. Looking at a Gmade R1 and notice it requires a 6cell 7.2v stick pack. I have this on my 4 year old Slash, but want to use Lipo on the R1. What all do I need to change? Do I use a special ESC or motor? Was looking at the Traxxass Titan550 motor and XL-5 ESC. Would these work with a Lipo? What cell count would I use, 2s or 3s? Would brushless make a huge difference?

Any info or advice would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Thanks!!
phishintodd is offline Find More Posts by phishintodd
Last edited by phishintodd; Jan 14, 2013 at 08:49 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:24 PM
in memory of dez RIP
USA, FL, Fort Myers
Joined Jun 2008
2,492 Posts
you have a thread on this already .
rcphreak is offline Find More Posts by rcphreak
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:49 AM
Joined May 2011
7 Posts
Not sure how to delete threads.
phishintodd is offline Find More Posts by phishintodd
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:38 AM
The wind caused that!!
United States, OK, Poteau
Joined Jul 2012
617 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phishintodd View Post
Hello all - I am a newbie to crawling and have been out of surface RC for a few years. Looking at a Gmade R1 and notice it requires a 6cell 7.2v stick pack. I have this on my 4 year old Slash, but want to use Lipo on the R1. What all do I need to change? Do I use a special ESC or motor? Was looking at the Traxxass Titan550 motor and XL-5 ESC. Would these work with a Lipo? What cell count would I use, 2s or 3s? Would brushless make a huge difference?

Any info or advice would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Thanks!!
i'll take a stab at a few of these questions.