Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 18, 2012, 06:36 PM
Joined Dec 2012
2 Posts
Discussion
foam coating for smoother surface and/or strength?

Hi All,

Im pretty new to foam rc airplanes and would like to know if they have some sort of coating you can apply to a foam body for achieving a smooth surface and possible to strengthen for grass landings?

Thanks,
Bean
Stbean is offline Find More Posts by Stbean
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:16 PM
K_B
1D Flyer
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Sep 2012
114 Posts
I've seen guys wrap their foamies in Ultracote/Monocote...
K_B is offline Find More Posts by K_B
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:56 PM
United States, CT
Joined Aug 2005
1,929 Posts
Ultracote definitely works.. If you don't care about the appearance, packing tape can be used as well but it usually looks like hell.

WBPU (water based polyurethane) gives a nice shine...may add a bit of durability. I have used it on EPS with no compatability problems.

Good luck!
MRGTX is offline Find More Posts by MRGTX
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:05 PM
I use EXPO and Senior Rates
United States, MI, Custer
Joined Jan 2010
268 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by K_B View Post
I've seen guys wrap their foamies in Ultracote/Monocote...
I have never used it but have read some threads on the use. Liquid Sheeting by WOW Airplanes. Take a look at it at the url below.

http://www.wowplanes.com/product_inf...a6656c11a898f4

You might find some threads on it if you search on the name. The mfg's planes look really great but as I said - I have just read about it.
Rightfly is offline Find More Posts by Rightfly
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:00 PM
Joined Dec 2012
2 Posts
Great! Thank you for all your quick responses. I really appreciate it!
Bean
Stbean is offline Find More Posts by Stbean
Old Dec 19, 2012, 06:52 AM
Raggistored Usehr
United States, FL
Joined Feb 2012
1,059 Posts