New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by rjessee, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Aug 28, 2009, 02:43 PM
Find More Posts by rjessee
Joined Aug 2009
2 Posts
Discussion
RC project for ASU

Hi I am a Dual major in Pro Flight and Mechanical Engineering at ASU POLY. I was giving the task of the Head Engineer of the design team in my logistics class to design an rc airplane. I have zero rc model experience. The only reason why I was appointed as the Head Engineer is that i have CAD experience. I would greatly like to have the rc plane fly is there has only been two classes that have completed the project well but has never flown for a duration of 20 minutes.

Ok so the design requirements.
Fly for a duration of 20 minutes to an altitude of 100 feet above ground level, with an 8-ounce payload.

The material I get to use is balsawood. I was thinking of a design like a P-38 lightning. Just with one engine.

Please nothing too elaborate. I only have one semester to design, build, test, and write a big report.
rjessee is offline Find More Posts by rjessee
Old Aug 28, 2009, 02:57 PM
Find More Posts by fhhuber506771
Deletedfor proving Nauga wrong
Joined Mar 2005
15,855 Posts
I'm sure there are other design constraints than what you have listed.... If not then you could quite easilly make it work.

Many of our models can lift far more than the 8 oz required and fly more than the 20 min required. For example I have a 17 lb aircraft that carries 24 fl oz of gasoline and I have no doubt I could put 7 lbs of lead in it and it would fly just fine. 24 oz of gasoline is appx 40 to 45 min worth of fuel for this model.

You'll need to read up on the basics of how an airplane flys and how we maintain control of an airplane.
fhhuber506771 is offline Find More Posts by fhhuber506771
Old Aug 28, 2009, 03:13 PM
Find More Posts by rjessee
Joined Aug 2009
2 Posts