HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 01, 2012, 07:32 AM
Registered User
United States, MD, Ellicott City
Joined Feb 2010
189 Posts
anyone have any experience on which is better between the APM2 and the Naza?
MIDNCOCO is offline Find More Posts by MIDNCOCO
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 01, 2012, 07:38 AM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Brasil, CE, Fortaleza
Joined Jun 2011
1,100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruddbucket View Post
Men when I see the video header I was so mad, unbelievable images that you have, those scenes where amazing beautiful. Hope you get a new one and be a little more carefull but that is a part of the hobby, sometimes we loose. Really sorry for your loss. Hope see you soon.

Mauro
mauromassari is offline Find More Posts by mauromassari
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 07:41 AM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Brasil, CE, Fortaleza
Joined Jun 2011
1,100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
2900g = 6lb 6.3oz
That's heavier than average.
Have you done some power calculations to determine if you are underpowered?
Is your ESC, motor, prop, battery choice in keeping with these calculations?
I know that you said temps were okay, but you might check your watts with a Wattsup Meter or something similar.
Along Mauro's line of reasoning, you might be able to go to 5S if your system can handle it.
Naza/VU can.
VU = 2S to 6S
Another option also is to increase your pitch if your ESC and motors can go with that too. See if you can go to 12X5 or 12X6, that is something that you will have to try out. That is a very heavy flying machine, be safe.

Mauro
mauromassari is offline Find More Posts by mauromassari
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 07:52 AM
Registered User
KevinBuckley70's Avatar
Oxfordshire, UK
Joined Jul 2001
279 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruddbucket View Post
That is such a fabulous video! I will look forward to the next installments.

I saw a video on another thread somewhere of a waterproofed quad going underwater & then resurfacing. Perhaps if you had set failsafe/RTH, your quad would have swum back to you! Although I guess by then, 'home' would have sailed on somewhat.
KevinBuckley70 is offline Find More Posts by KevinBuckley70
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:09 AM
My cat moderates better
BillzillaAus's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Worongary
Joined Apr 2011
553 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruddbucket View Post
Great video, thanks for that.
Sorry to hear of the loss of your little four-armed mate.
BillzillaAus is offline Find More Posts by BillzillaAus
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:40 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,496 Posts
Naza vs APM2

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIDNCOCO View Post
anyone have any experience on which is better between the APM2 and the Naza?
I have both, but I have yet to fly the APM2.
Even with its Assistant, APM2 is much more of a "coder's or programmer's FC.
I read recently that the Arducopter code set a record sizewise for Arduino coding.
There are many people working together to write the "shared" code.
It's all freeware. And it's all beta testing so-to-speak.

It has a very broad range of capabilities including plank aircraft auto-piloting.
You need basic electronics and Arduino knowledge.
There are dozens of features and optional sensors that can be programmed into the APM2 FC.
The problems we address on the Naza threads are nothing compared to the work being done with APM2.
Picture the Naza as the result of work done with APM1 & APM2.
Naza is more turnkey (even then, as you can see, it's complicated).
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: "In Stock"
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:42 AM
Registered User
Italia, Piemonte, Biella
Joined Feb 2011
394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
2900g = 6lb 6.3oz
That's heavier than average.
Have you done some power calculations to determine if you are underpowered?
Is your ESC, motor, prop, battery choice in keeping with these calculations?
I know that you said temps were okay, but you might check your watts with a Wattsup Meter or something similar.
Along Mauro's line of reasoning, you might be able to go to 5S if your system can handle it.
Naza/VU can.
VU = 2S to 6S
my escs can't handle 5s, anyway in manual mode i hover just a tad over half throttle.
I made other 2 flights and had no problem...
Now i am trying to move the naza on another machine, a Y6 where i just removed a AQ50 pro board.
BUT i can't get it to work... when i do CSC sequence only motor #3 starts spinning, all others are still.. I tried recalibrating throttle ranges on escs and all went well, motors spin correctly when connected to RX... I have updated motor config in naza assistant. i'm quite puzzled...
thepelell is offline Find More Posts by thepelell
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:49 AM
Registered User
KevinBuckley70's Avatar
Oxfordshire, UK
Joined Jul 2001
279 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepelell View Post
my escs can't handle 5s, anyway in manual mode i hover just a tad over half throttle.
I made other 2 flights and had no problem...
Now i am trying to move the naza on another machine, a Y6 where i just removed a AQ50 pro board.
BUT i can't get it to work... when i do CSC sequence only motor #3 starts spinning, all others are still.. I tried recalibrating throttle ranges on escs and all went well, motors spin correctly when connected to RX... I have updated motor config in naza assistant. i'm quite puzzled...
This may be a 'dumb question' but the last time that happened to me, it was because I had successfully inserted 3 out of 4 of the ESC connectors into the NAZA upside down (having sleeved each cable to protect the BEC wire I had removed which hid the cable colours)
KevinBuckley70 is offline Find More Posts by KevinBuckley70
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:50 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,496 Posts
Rip

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruddbucket View Post
Man, I'm proud you're planning to stay with quadcopter flying.
Your videos have been awesome!
I use pool noodles for leg extensions to get camera gimbal clearance.
Not sure, but that might be your "parachute" or "lifeboat" for future escapades...
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: "In Stock"
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:51 AM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Brasil, CE, Fortaleza
Joined Jun 2011
1,100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepelell View Post
my escs can't handle 5s, anyway in manual mode i hover just a tad over half throttle.
I made other 2 flights and had no problem...
Now i am trying to move the naza on another machine, a Y6 where i just removed a AQ50 pro board.
BUT i can't get it to work... when i do CSC sequence only motor #3 starts spinning, all others are still.. I tried recalibrating throttle ranges on escs and all went well, motors spin correctly when connected to RX... I have updated motor config in naza assistant. i'm quite puzzled...
It could be your ESC that are not "talking" to Naza, try those arm sequency:
- Power Naza 1st then ESC
- Power ESC 1st then Naza
- Power both together in 1sec unpower ESC then wait for Naza to set then power again ESC (This was the only way that I was able to get mine to work)

Mauro
mauromassari is offline Find More Posts by mauromassari
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:54 AM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Brasil, CE, Fortaleza
Joined Jun 2011
1,100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
Man, I'm proud you're planning to stay with quadcopter flying.
Your videos have been awesome!
I use pool noodles for leg extensions to get camera gimbal clearance.
Not sure, but that might be your "parachute" or "lifeboat" for future escapades...
Hi TJ, his biggest problem is not to float in the water is to make a turn around in the big overseas ship.... And RTH with a ship moving will bring him to a spot in the ocean too.

Mauro
mauromassari is offline Find More Posts by mauromassari
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:56 AM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauromassari View Post
Hi TJ, his biggest problem is not to float in the water is to make a turn around in the big overseas ship.... And RTH with a ship moving will bring him to a spot in the ocean too.

Mauro
^^this

His only option would be to have someone man a fishing pole and hope the props don't hit the fishing line... maybe a weight about 1ft away from frame to keep the line down...

He has no option but to run the risk.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:59 AM
Registered User
Italia, Piemonte, Biella
Joined Feb 2011
394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauromassari View Post
It could be your ESC that are not "talking" to Naza, try those arm sequency:
- Power Naza 1st then ESC
- Power ESC 1st then Naza
- Power both together in 1sec unpower ESC then wait for Naza to set then power again ESC (This was the only way that I was able to get mine to work)

Mauro
hmm.. this is going to be tricky, i have all power wires on same power distro board.. only way is to power the naza with a different batt i suppose.
BTW i'm using turnigy plush 30 v3.1 escs...
thepelell is offline Find More Posts by thepelell
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 08:59 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,496 Posts
Ghost In The Machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by thepelell View Post
my escs can't handle 5s, anyway in manual mode i hover just a tad over half throttle.
I made other 2 flights and had no problem...
Now i am trying to move the naza on another machine, a Y6 where i just removed a AQ50 pro board.
BUT i can't get it to work... when i do CSC sequence only motor #3 starts spinning, all others are still.. I tried recalibrating throttle ranges on escs and all went well, motors spin correctly when connected to RX... I have updated motor config in naza assistant. i'm quite puzzled...
You're going to have to do the basic troubleshooting routine even further than you have.
Since the components have worked before, it's probably some overlooked, basic thing.
Have you started with a defaulted or new model on your transmitter?
Recheck all your Assistant settings (are you using traditional or Dbus for receiver setting?).
Be sure to write each page.
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: "In Stock"
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2012, 09:02 AM
Registered User
Italia, Piemonte, Biella
Joined Feb 2011
394 Posts
sh**, i just saw on spreadsheet on first page, that plush 30 give no esc initialization with naza....
thepelell is offline Find More Posts by thepelell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 19946 Yesterday 08:09 AM
New Product MultiWiiCopter "MiniWii" FC - Cheap, small 6DOF FC JussiH Multirotor Talk 707 Jan 01, 2013 08:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 11:43 AM
New Product United Hobbies FC 28-05 & FC 28-22 brushless outrunners $5.95 ea. JawaSnack Hot Online Deals 9 Jul 17, 2007 10:31 AM
Futaba FC-18 teacher to FC-16 pupil problem . jmquetin Radios 5 Nov 02, 2004 06:48 AM