SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 26, 2012, 03:11 AM
Joined Jun 2012
6 Posts
Poll
keep gas engine or go electric?

Hi all , new to the forum longtime fan of r/c cars and boats .I came upon a box of 10 gas engines from a o.k. cub diesel to o.s. fs -61 .I was considering keeping either the o.s. fs61 or the o.p.s. speed 60 spa rca . but it has been suggested since i am new to planes that I go electric . I guess what i m asking is is it feasible to build a plane with one of these engines and operate it without a lot of esheadache for a beginner or would it be more enjoyable after some experience with an easier to operate model . and what could I expectto pay for a nice electric. as well as what can i get for these 2 engines if i decide to sell them. thanks in advance for your help.
poppalarry is offline Find More Posts by poppalarry
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 26, 2012, 04:08 AM
Lacona, NY
Joined Dec 2009
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppalarry View Post
Hi all , new to the forum longtime fan of r/c cars and boats .I came upon a box of 10 gas engines from a o.k. cub diesel to o.s. fs -61 .I was considering keeping either the o.s. fs61 or the o.p.s. speed 60 spa rca . but it has been suggested since i am new to planes that I go electric . I guess what i m asking is is it feasible to build a plane with one of these engines and operate it without a lot of esheadache for a beginner or would it be more enjoyable after some experience with an easier to operate model . and what could I expectto pay for a nice electric. as well as what can i get for these 2 engines if i decide to sell them. thanks in advance for your help.

OK now, if you were to ask this question to the electric forum, I bet they'd all tell you to get rid of them and go electric.

In the fuel forum most of us will tell you to go glow/gas or what ever.

Whats wrong about having both? It's up to you and in this hobby you have this freedom that's called "choice."