SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 21, 2014, 01:31 AM
Find More Posts by willp14335
Joined Dec 2014
39 Posts
Discussion
Painting a Hull for Beginners?

I recently picked up a used Northwind 36, and am planning to paint it. Since I purchased her, I have added new carbon sails, new carbon booms, a new vang, a new sail winch servo and a new spectra headstay. The boat sails pretty nicely. The included picture was taken in two knots of wind. The guy I bought her from did a sloppy job with gluing and epoxying, and the boat has some scuffs and smears and small surface scratches on the stem and near the stern where it overhangs the DWL. The keel is also a little rough. I figure I will have to so a bit of sanding there. My main question is what kind of prep work needs to be done about this before painting. I am a student of yacht design and live on a sailboat, and hence know a fair amount about boats, however I am completely new to modelling. My previous boat, a Nirvana II had no need of a paint job. This boat does not look as pristine and could use a bit of a facelift. Any suggestions or tips for a beginner to go about this would be most welcome.
willp14335 is offline Find More Posts by willp14335
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 21, 2014, 02:52 AM
Find More Posts by FWAL
Flying without a licence
United Kingdom, Wales, The Mumbles
Joined Dec 2010
679 Posts
Preparation, preparation, preparation!
Then if you can afford it (students normally drink and smoke their money) use Epiflanes 2K paint. Once recommended to me by Robot Yachts arguably the best model yacht laminator in the World:
http://www.epifanes.com/home
Please keep us updated
Mk
FWAL is offline Find More Posts by FWAL
Old Dec 23, 2014, 08:30 AM
Find More Posts by Gringo42
Gringo42
United States, MI, Canton
Joined Jul 2014
60 Posts
Krylon for plastic or Rustoleum high gloss! Used both, great results!
Gringo42 is online now Find More Posts by Gringo42
Old Dec 23, 2014, 10:20 AM
Find More Posts by stevezero