SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Thread Tools
Old Nov 26, 2014, 05:12 PM
FR4-Pilot is online now
Find More Posts by FR4-Pilot
SUCK LESS
FR4-Pilot's Avatar
United States, IL, Lombard
Joined May 2009
3,671 Posts
That's great to hear. Good idea marking the center of the wing - I might have to try that.

I just got some DuBro Snowbird skiis for mine - haven't put them on yet. Each one weighs around 60g with hardware, and there's 3 of them !
FR4-Pilot is online now Find More Posts by FR4-Pilot
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 28, 2014, 10:01 AM
GooberGuz is offline
Find More Posts by GooberGuz
Registered User
United States, UT, Spanish Fork
Joined Aug 2014
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
Good choice in planes, Guz. Now, I hate to be the guy to say it, but did you check the manuals for that info? What we would type in here is already in them. And the exact programming that works on one plane can be wrong for another due to variations in the mechanical spots and such, not to mention you got it used. If you get stuck, then definitely ask. If you don't have the manuals, they can be downloaded from the Spektrum and E-flite websites. Search for Apprentice in the discontinued planes. Don't get the Apprentice S manual.

Sorry if this isn't the answer you were looking for.

Thanks for the info
GooberGuz is offline Find More Posts by GooberGuz
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2015, 01:53 AM
crasha is online now
Find More Posts by crasha
Terrain......PULL UP!!!
crasha's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
325 Posts
Oops. Sorry, posted in wrong thread
crasha is online now Find More Posts by crasha
Last edited by crasha; Mar 17, 2015 at 11:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2015, 08:56 AM
PHerder is online now
Find More Posts by PHerder
Registered User
United States, KS, Sedgwick
Joined Nov 2004
167 Posts
I believe there is a thread concerning the oscillation via the elevator. It is caused by the elevator servo! It has been reported that replacing that servo fixes that problem.

I believe the thread is in the electric beginner's section.
PHerder is online now Find More Posts by PHerder
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 12:02 PM
r111rdody is offline
Find More Posts by r111rdody
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
58 Posts
Hi guys, permit to join the thread.

I plan of buying this plane, but still confused about maximum range of rtf version of this plane (with dx5 tx).

Anybody here has test the maximum range of this rtf plane?

Thanks.
r111rdody is offline Find More Posts by r111rdody
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 12:20 PM
gobigdave is offline
Find More Posts by gobigdave
Registered User
United States, MA, Scituate
Joined Apr 2007
176 Posts
I haven't tested the maximum range, but my kids have it far enough away that it was difficult to see it.
gobigdave is offline Find More Posts by gobigdave
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 12:40 PM
r111rdody is offline
Find More Posts by r111rdody
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gobigdave View Post
I haven't tested the maximum range, but my kids have it far enough away that it was difficult to see it.
Thanks for the answer Dave.

You think is more than 300m? Or maybe less.
I plan of using fpv on it. As a first plane for me, I wish for 300 or 400m range.
r111rdody is offline Find More Posts by r111rdody
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 01:15 PM
gobigdave is offline
Find More Posts by gobigdave
Registered User
United States, MA, Scituate
Joined Apr 2007
176 Posts
Hard to say exactly how far. I know I couldn't easily tell which way it was going without banking it. I'm guessing 200-300m easy. The Apprentice has a standard 2.4G radio in it. Generally, if there is a line of sight, then you are good. Even the manual talks about having at least 200m of space to fly it. There are slope soarers that easily get 2000m away with these radios. You may want to investigate if the Apprentice Rx will accept a remote receiver. If so, you can add one of those to help. Finally, there is nothing that says you can't throw in a different Rx and load up on remote receivers to increase your range.
gobigdave is offline Find More Posts by gobigdave
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 01:42 PM
r111rdody is offline
Find More Posts by r111rdody
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
58 Posts
Yes Dave, thanks.

Dave, you fly fpv with this plane.? Is there enough Range to do that.(aerial photography?) I have a 120m quadcopter for aerial photos. A quadcopter can still in place, plane have speed on air, so we have to have more range.

The other options is to just using long range TX & rx on RC plane. But I need that save technology that helping newb flyer like me.

*sorry for bad English.
r111rdody is offline Find More Posts by r111rdody
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 07:05 PM
gobigdave is offline
Find More Posts by gobigdave
Registered User
United States, MA, Scituate
Joined Apr 2007
176 Posts
I do not fly FPV. I'm using this plane to train my kids to fly. They have a tendency to keep flying farther and farther away, so I know there is decent range.
gobigdave is offline Find More Posts by gobigdave
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2015, 03:30 AM
James Lee is offline
Find More Posts by James Lee
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Tabulam
Joined Nov 2014
75 Posts
Hi guys,would this motor be suitable replacement for the apprentice?

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?for...arehouse_.html
James Lee is offline Find More Posts by James Lee
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2015, 06:34 PM
Surgi is offline
Find More Posts by Surgi
Registered User
Surgi's Avatar
United States, PA, Lancaster
Joined Jul 2014
18 Posts
Im up to 8 planes, and figured I'd mod the Apprentice S so it doesn't just sit and collect dust. I reinforced the horizontal/vertical stab with cf rods, installed a power 25 1250kv and a castle edge 75 amp esc. I was planning on running a 4s 2650 for the time being, and will grab some 4s 3000's soon.

For the life of me I don't know what prop size I should run. I have an apc 12x8 that I was thinking of using, however thought I'd ask here first.

Anyone do anything similar to their Apprentice and if so, what prop works best? Thanks in advance.

Edit: I've just done enough research to realize I need to put this 1250kv into my P47 and grab the 870kv for the Apprentice.

Any thoughts would still be appreciated.
Surgi is offline Find More Posts by Surgi
Last edited by Surgi; Apr 30, 2015 at 07:09 PM.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Pitts Model 12 15e ARF by E-flite I got one!! helifann Parkflyers 7 Nov 19, 2008 10:23 PM
New Product Wrong area Get Real Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 0 May 16, 2008 05:27 AM
Sold SOLD Blade CP RTF Electric Micro Heli by E-flite Lakepilot Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Nov 26, 2007 05:40 PM
For Sale E-Sky King V1 hopped up, RTF w/ Spektrum Radio zero9046 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 May 16, 2007 12:34 AM
Odyssey EP by E-Flite for a beginner flyer? Bellavance Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 0 Oct 09, 2001 07:23 PM