HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:46 PM
England
Joined Jun 2006
4 Posts
Discussion
Correct Compressor

I want to invest in a compressor and would like some help to purchase the correct. one.
It will be only used for painting rc planes, and most of that for airbrushing decals, etc. However, I will want it to be able to spay the occasional plane of perhaps 1/5 scale.
I was looking at the AB-AS196 Twin Cylinder Mini Piston type. Will it spay one side of the wing before running out of air, if using a touch up/mini gun or similar?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2611381823...84.m1423.l2649

As you have probably realized I have no experience with compressors or spray guns
nellsey is offline Find More Posts by nellsey
Last edited by nellsey; Dec 31, 2012 at 04:24 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 03, 2013, 09:59 PM
The Prez....... again
United States, IA, Rockwell
Joined Jul 2011
3,916 Posts
To correctly size your compressor, you have to know how much air you largest paint gun willl use. Everything is rated at XXX CFM (cubic feet per minute) at XXX PSI ( pound per square inch)

Example: You spray gun will consume 4 CFM at 40 PSI. This means the compressor must produce 4CFM @ 40 PSI. If it doesn't you will run out of air.

With the above said you can cheat a bit as the compressor will build pressure above the 40 PSI so you have a little cushion. Also the compressor will run after the pressure lowers a bit and add air as you are spraying. EDIT: A larger reservoir will also help with not running out of air. You could purchase one of those tanks you use to fill a flat tire. Hooked up to your existing tank it will give more capacity.

I have a 2 HP compressor capable of 150 PSI. I have painted cars with it, but that is a bit of a stretch even for that compressor. For your application I would look for something that will pump about 3 CFM @ 90 PSI. Something like this http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...8650_200578650