Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 26, 2011, 08:00 PM
Go Ugly Early
Azle, TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,128 Posts
Discussion
Re-maidening after extensive repairs...

Hi...I've been having problems with my Scorpio Hellcat. I think I am the problem. I've been flying for about 6 months, and graduated up to 40" warbirds within a couple of weeks. My second plane was the PZ Spitfire (never crashed that one). However, I think my problem is flying something that ISN'T idiot-proof like a PZ warbird...I mean...let's face it...those things will practically fly themselves.

My Hellcat (OOP Scorpio kit):

I've flown her easily when she was mint, and life was good. I had a couple of minor crashes, and fixed her. Trying to fly her again, ended up with a major crash...something didn't feel right. I fixed again. Up in the air, totally out of control, and the nose gets obliterated. I fixed again...took me a week this time. I went out to give her another shot today. She was so wildly out of control, I had no idea where to start on the trims. I got as much altitude as I could, but the plane went every direction but straight. She finally plowed into a set of bleachers. I scooped up all the pieces, and will...rebuild...again.

My first reaction is that I am a decent pilot on a well set up plane. But a heavily modified/repaired plane loses it's stock flight characteristics. I think I need more time behind the sticks of a stock (idiot-proof) plane to become better. Am I off on that one? Or...can you actually repair an airframe to the point it's pretty much useless?

I'll see what I can do to get pics up this evening.
The Hog Pen is offline Find More Posts by The Hog Pen
Last edited by The Hog Pen; May 26, 2011 at 11:56 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old May 26, 2011, 11:54 PM
Go Ugly Early
Azle, TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,128 Posts