HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:09 PM
Videopilot
Derek_S's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined May 2009
2,720 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
Nothing stopping you.. if you have one make senses..

However MinimOSD and attopilot is a cheap combination.. and integrates with Arducopter.. including the GCS.. so you loose a lot of functionality with a seperate OSD..
, No, I dont want to use the whole OSD, only the current sensor since I have that already. it is like this one:

Derek_S is offline Find More Posts by Derek_S
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Iconic X
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:33 PM
Registered User
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Oct 2004
93 Posts
That looks like an Attopilot. What exactly is it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_S View Post
, No, I dont want to use the whole OSD, only the current sensor since I have that already. it is like this one:

jmkirsch is offline Find More Posts by jmkirsch
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:14 PM
Videopilot
Derek_S's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined May 2009
2,720 Posts
It is a skylark FPV Tiny OSD
Derek_S is offline Find More Posts by Derek_S
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Iconic X
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:06 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_S View Post
, No, I dont want to use the whole OSD, only the current sensor since I have that already. it is like this one:

I guess you could get it to work.. depending on the output voltage from the shunt.. but ArduCopter is allready configured for the Attopilot.. you would need to be careful that the voltage from the shunt didnt exceed safe levels for the APM 2.5 and you would need to edit the code in Arduino to get the amps rights for the voltage measure.. ie: calibration....a lot of grief if you ask me.. .. I am a great advocate for the KISS principle..

3DR are about to release a new voltage/amps bridge from what I have read btw.
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 08:46 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Dearborn Heights
Joined Dec 2009
250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
Should work ok, the Crius extend board connector extends S1, S2 & S3 to the board... you will to make a cable from the serial on the Telemetry Port and the Serial from the GPS port on the APM to the extend port.. (S2 GPS and S3 Telemetry)
I got the APM2.5 board today and currently deciding on exactly how to hook up the crius extend board to the APM2.5 board. Before I start cutting the connector harness, I would like a suggestion on which APM2.5 port should I use to power the extend board, since the GPS port or the 3DR port will provide +5V?

Also, I have an xbee adapter like the one in the picture, should I just use the adapter to connect to the 3DR port instead of combining the two ports into one plug for the extend board?
RaySuave is offline Find More Posts by RaySuave
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:09 AM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaySuave View Post
I got the APM2.5 board today and currently deciding on exactly how to hook up the crius extend board to the APM2.5 board. Before I start cutting the connector harness, I would like a suggestion on which APM2.5 port should I use to power the extend board, since the GPS port or the 3DR port will provide +5V?

Also, I have an xbee adapter like the one in the picture, should I just use the adapter to connect to the 3DR port instead of combining the two ports into one plug for the extend board?
The Crius extend board uses the cable from the S1, S2 and S3, the GPS is on the S2 port, the Xbee pins use the S3 Port.

The APM 2.5 has one telemetry port, one GPS port.. there are other I/O ports but haven't used them.

So the cable will need to connect S3 from the extend board to the Telemetry port on APM.... and S2 on the extend board to the GPS Port on the APM.

Both ports have 5V supply.. so either one will be fine. (Xbee tends to use 3.3v which is supplied by the regulator on the Crius Extend board btw).
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:06 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Dearborn Heights
Joined Dec 2009
250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
The Crius extend board uses the cable from the S1, S2 and S3, the GPS is on the S2 port, the Xbee pins use the S3 Port.

The APM 2.5 has one telemetry port, one GPS port.. there are other I/O ports but haven't used them.

So the cable will need to connect S3 from the extend board to the Telemetry port on APM.... and S2 on the extend board to the GPS Port on the APM.

Both ports have 5V supply.. so either one will be fine. (Xbee tends to use 3.3v which is supplied by the regulator on the Crius Extend board btw).
Is there a chart showing the pin out definitions for the APM2.5 telemetry and GPS ports?
RaySuave is offline Find More Posts by RaySuave
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 03:43 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaySuave View Post
Is there a chart showing the pin out definitions for the APM2.5 telemetry and GPS ports?
Found this.. might help..
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 03:57 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Dearborn Heights
Joined Dec 2009
250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
Found this.. might help..
I looked at this before but the connector labels are kind of confusing. Well, based on process of elimination, the 5 pin connectors are for GPS and telemetry, and the 4th pin is not used which makes sense because all the other boards use 4 pins for GPS and telemetry. I will go with that and see what happens.
RaySuave is offline Find More Posts by RaySuave
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 04:05 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaySuave View Post
I looked at this before but the connector labels are kind of confusing. Well, based on process of elimination, the 5 pin connectors are for GPS and telemetry, and the 4th pin is not used which makes sense because all the other boards use 4 pins for GPS and telemetry. I will go with that and see what happens.
Yeah just been checking my RCtimer board, and this does not seem to be the same.... this is how my GPS is currently wired and working.. (first version of board)

Would be good to double check the latest versions that come with the double ended cable.. if the diagram I posted for the APM 2.5 is right.. then the Rctimer port pin outs look different.. can anyone else confirm ?.. I don't have a genuine board to check..
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
310 Posts
Rctimer website is down.
Attack or out of business?

Geotete
geotete is offline Find More Posts by geotete
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:48 PM
Lt Col, USAF
United States, IL, Swansea
Joined Jan 2010
274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotete View Post
Rctimer website is down.
Attack or out of business?

Geotete
It was down for several hours last night. Maintenance.
kc10kevin is offline Find More Posts by kc10kevin
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:22 PM
KK4NOP
Mike Freas's Avatar
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Aug 2005
3,331 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc10kevin View Post
It was down for several hours last night. Maintenance.
It was down last week also.
Mike Freas is offline Find More Posts by Mike Freas
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pan/Tilt servo mods
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:17 AM
Registered Aircraft Offender
Truglodite's Avatar
Carmichael, CA
Joined Feb 2007
3,511 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaySuave View Post
Is there a chart showing the pin out definitions for the APM2.5 telemetry and GPS ports?
The wiki works for me:

http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/...board_Overview

http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/APM2RC

Kev
Truglodite is offline Find More Posts by Truglodite
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:18 AM
Registered Aircraft Offender
Truglodite's Avatar
Carmichael, CA
Joined Feb 2007
3,511 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Freas View Post
It was down last week also.
Still down.
Truglodite is offline Find More Posts by Truglodite
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 4 Oct 01, 2012 09:32 AM
Sold 3DR APM 2.5 + Ublox Gps Zenonic Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 28, 2012 10:58 PM
Sold Apm 2.5 and Gps Panzlflyer FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Sep 26, 2012 08:30 AM
Sold APM 2.5 with Ublox Gps Panzlflyer Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Sep 25, 2012 07:03 PM
Discussion APM 2.5 clone - MegaFlight 2.5 ralphwu Multirotor Electronics 1 Sep 24, 2012 01:18 PM