This thread is privately moderated by turboparker, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jul 23, 2016, 07:16 PM
Find More Posts by turboparker
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Jul 2009
15,167 Posts
Hard Rock and Fast Cars

Smitty,

Hey, now...

I'm 60, and I've been building my own computers since the late 70s. I've been into video games (primarily ultra-realistic flight sims, air-war sims, and auto racing sims) since the very first flight-sim was released to the public! Started out with FS1 by SubLogic in 1980. At the time, it was absolutely mind-blowing. And even today, I still build my PCs so they'll handle current flight-sims & racing sims with all of the settings balls-to-the-wall & still not miss a beat.

Oh - and I've been a hobbyist drag-racer since I was a high-school kid. I still go to the track every so often with my '87 Buick Grand National. I've hopped it up a bit over the decades. Now it does 0-60 MPH in 3.8 seconds, runs 11s in the quarter, carves corners, and can cruise @ 160 MPH without even breathing hard. I hope that when I'm 70, I'll still want to stoplight race the kids!

And I still crank-up my 1240-watt RMS audiophile-grade 24-bit/192k 7.1 surround audio system, spin-up a few ultra-high-resolution DVD-A & SACD disks, and scare the spiders out of the walls. And I still do live mixing for rock bands.

As a long-time best friend & old hot-rodding buddy says - "You're only as old as you think you are." And on the wall of his body shop, there's a big sign that says: "Don't take life too seriously. It's not permanent."

My advice is to do whatever is necessary to avoid turning into a crotchety old-fart. We have too many of those already! It's all about one's mind-set. Sweating the small stuff is a choice.

And now.....back to your regularly-scheduled program!

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
Last edited by turboparker; Jul 23, 2016 at 07:26 PM.
Old Jul 23, 2016, 07:20 PM