HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 28, 2013, 02:37 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
551 Posts
Plane 5.8G antenna:
I did disassemble the thing and the antenna is 32mm long. There is a copper shield at the foot of the antenna. This makes a pretty good (but a little too long) 1/4 lambda for ... 2.4 ghz!

The "native" 1/4 length for 5.8 ghz would be 13 - 14mm.

Edit: After some research ... this is a 5/8 lambda !
Cesco is offline Find More Posts by Cesco
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:55 PM
Registered User
Swindon, UK
Joined Nov 2000
38 Posts
that's interesting Hawk Hunter. Hubsan's website has a photo of the board which shows a socket to plug in a gps module numbered h301a. http://www.hubsan.com/products/FPV/H301F.htm

I wonder if it would be possible to fit a different RTH module perhaps a cyclops?
skids is offline Find More Posts by skids
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 01:13 PM
Registered User
juerwotow's Avatar
FUENGIROLA (MALAGA) Spain
Joined Dec 2006
159 Posts
Hello! What interesting the two last posts, Tell us if you find out something more!
juerwotow is offline Find More Posts by juerwotow
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 03:08 PM
Psalm 37:4
HawkHunter's Avatar
Litchfield Park, AZ.
Joined Jun 2006
202 Posts
I wonder if it would be possible to fit a different RTH module perhaps a cyclops?[/QUOTE]


I would be surprised if you could get another brand RTH module to work with the Hubsan receiver.
HawkHunter is offline Find More Posts by HawkHunter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 02:50 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
8 Posts
SpyHawk Range gone down?

Hello everyone,

Went to fly my spyhawk yesterday and it went great! Good video range and control range!

But today the video range is still 500m or so buy the control range is around 10-20m?

Any ideas?
DatRCGuy is offline Find More Posts by DatRCGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 09:27 PM
Psalm 37:4
HawkHunter's Avatar
Litchfield Park, AZ.
Joined Jun 2006
202 Posts
Something is wrong somewhere. You should get more control range than video range. Check your antenna and wiring for a loose connection somewhere.
HawkHunter is offline Find More Posts by HawkHunter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
8 Posts
Well, found the problem. The arial was loose and so was the wire, tried soldering it back on and what not, cant fix it. Guess its the end of my SpyHawk. Hubsan has bad quality. Also got a hubsan quadcopter and one of the motors didnt go. I wouldnt reccomend hubsan to anyone.
DatRCGuy is offline Find More Posts by DatRCGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:42 PM
Psalm 37:4
HawkHunter's Avatar
Litchfield Park, AZ.
Joined Jun 2006
202 Posts
Yeah, I know what your talking about. I've replaced 3 servos already and my Skyhawk version 3 has only 10 flights on it.
HawkHunter is offline Find More Posts by HawkHunter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
8 Posts
Anyone know where i can get a Hubsan invader helicopter for under $200? Need a new remote for the spyhawk lol
DatRCGuy is offline Find More Posts by DatRCGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 12:14 PM
Registered User
Swindon, UK
Joined Nov 2000
38 Posts
why can't you soldering iron on if the wire has come off?
skids is offline Find More Posts by skids
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 12:29 PM
Registered User
Swindon, UK
Joined Nov 2000
38 Posts
I've been looking at the instructions for the Cyclops Storm autopilot with the return to home function. It sits between the receiver and the aileron and elevator servos. Normally a switch on the transmitter is used to activate the RTH function so we would need to find a way to do this using the Spyhawk transmitter.The other way that the RTH is activated is when the signal is lost from the transmitter this requires a failsafe function to detect loss of signal. There are failsafe devices available on the market such as this http://robotbirds.com/catalog/produc...oducts_id=2582
skids is offline Find More Posts by skids
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 12:34 PM
Registered User
Swindon, UK
Joined Nov 2000
38 Posts
so it might be possible to make the plane return to home by turning off the transmitter. Then it would fly home and circle until the battery runs flat stopping the motor and allowing it to land itself.
skids is offline Find More Posts by skids
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 02:03 PM
Psalm 37:4
HawkHunter's Avatar
Litchfield Park, AZ.
Joined Jun 2006
202 Posts
Spyhawk Batteries

As most of you know the Spyhawk batteries for the radio and plane need work. Here is my tested battery solution to the problem. I use a Zippy Compact 1300mah 11.1 v 3cell LiPo for the radio. It fits perfectly and i'm getting around 20 thirty minute flights before the battery needs recharged.
In the plane i'm using a Zippy compact 850 mah 7.4 v 2 cell LiPo battery. The video recording module needs to be moved to the side for the battery to fit. I'm now getting 30 minute flights with this battery. The batteries were bought from Hobby King.
HawkHunter is offline Find More Posts by HawkHunter
Last edited by HawkHunter; Feb 19, 2013 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:41 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,517 Posts
.....there is totally no support from Hubsan??????????

I PM'd almost 2 months ago..... C'mon maann :-(
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 10:04 PM
Psalm 37:4
HawkHunter's Avatar
Litchfield Park, AZ.
Joined Jun 2006
202 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rclab1 View Post
.....there is totally no support from Hubsan??????????

I PM'd almost 2 months ago..... C'mon maann :-(

What support are you looking for from them?
HawkHunter is offline Find More Posts by HawkHunter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools