SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 29, 2005, 10:07 PM
apprentice shipwright
Little Rock, AR
Joined Sep 2005
112 Posts
Motors, Shaft and Prop info needed

Although I used to build model airplanes back when I was about 13 or so, I am brand new to boat modeling. I have been meaning to do this forever, just never got to it.

I am scratch building a 1:12 scale model of a pilot boat and I am now planking the hull. I have enough woodworking experience and I have learned so much from reading your forum that so far I have not run into any major snags.

Where I do need some help is in the motor / driveshaft / prop department.

The boat is about 47 inches long, has twin props/rudders.

I figured that if I get two counter-rotating props, one left-handed, and one right-handed I could pretty much eliminate any torque working on the boat and have it going straight without having to compensate with the rudders. (I assume that is the way the real thing works)

I decided to use a two-motor set-up, using conventional brush-motors and an ESC.

Here are my questions:

1. Is my reasoning regarding the torque elimination more or less correct?

2. Are there any major drawbacks to using the twin-counter-rotating prop setup?

3. Should I put the motors in parallel or series, assuming I am using one ESC to drive both? Other than making sure I get the right voltage motors matching my batteries I can't think of a good reason why one should be better than the other. Anyone have experience with this?

4. I know this is probably hard to answer given the information I provided, but Iíll give it a go:

a. For this size boat, what kind of motor would you suggest (type and power)?
b. What kind of props would I use (size, number of blades, etc)? How do I make sure I get one left-handed prop and a matching right-handed?
c. Where can I get the recommended motor and props?