HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 05, 2012, 08:50 AM
Registered User
Portugal, Braga, Vila Nova de Famalic„o
Joined Oct 2009
131 Posts
Help!
voltage regulator to servo

Hi

I have a step down voltage regulator that i want to connect to a servo.
Can someone please explain me how i should do the wiring?

thanks
best regards
Jose
oacilamaf is offline Find More Posts by oacilamaf
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2012, 10:12 AM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
1,883 Posts
Just a single servo? I would think you would want to connect the entire rx. Or is it for a HV servo?
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 10:21 AM
Registered User
Portugal, Braga, Vila Nova de Famalic„o
Joined Oct 2009
131 Posts
yes, just a single servo.
Its a normal servo, i just want it to move slower.
Can you help me with the wiring?
oacilamaf is offline Find More Posts by oacilamaf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 10:53 AM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
1,883 Posts
I don't think a servo will work at less than 5V very reliably. You can buy servo slowing devices at servocity.com I think.
I'm not certain on the wiring.
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 11:44 AM
"MAYONNAISE"
Acetronics's Avatar
Le Treport, France
Joined Jun 2004
1,392 Posts
just look at the shown picture !!!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/LM2596-DC-Co...-/220877514845

YESSSSSS !!!

Alain
Acetronics is offline Find More Posts by Acetronics
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 02:44 PM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
1,883 Posts
He means how to wire it to supply power to a servo while using a different power supply for the RX.
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 05:37 AM
Registered User
Portugal, Braga, Vila Nova de Famalic„o
Joined Oct 2009
131 Posts
Not so simple wiring a servo to a voltage regulator. obviously my first try was to connect positive to negative on both in and out but it didnt work. It wil only work if i make contact between the white wire (if it is connected all the time it wont work)
Any suggestion?
oacilamaf is offline Find More Posts by oacilamaf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 07:14 AM
Registered User
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Joined Dec 2007
606 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oacilamaf View Post
yes, just a single servo.
Its a normal servo, i just want it to move slower.
Can you help me with the wiring?
You purchased the wrong bit of kit. Bad idea to limit the supply voltage to a servo with the idea of slowing it down.

What you need is a servo rate adjuster.......here's an example.

http://www.graysonhobby.com/catalog/...ter-p-421.html

Ian.
IanJ is online now Find More Posts by IanJ
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 11:08 AM
Registered User
Portugal, Braga, Vila Nova de Famalic„o
Joined Oct 2009
131 Posts
i was only slowing it down to 4.8v so i think there is no problem, am i right?
So, the voltage regulator wont work with servo or is it just to difficuld to worth it?
One more thing, can i suply power directly to the servo? how?
oacilamaf is offline Find More Posts by oacilamaf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 11:48 AM
"MAYONNAISE"
Acetronics's Avatar
Le Treport, France
Joined Jun 2004
1,392 Posts
No real problem till your voltage stays > 4v3 ...

just loss of torque ( take care not to be too close to stall ... ) . But being honest ... speed reduction is not really noticeable il load is light.

so, your "solution" is ... " not so good " ...

Alain
Acetronics is offline Find More Posts by Acetronics
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 02:07 PM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
1,883 Posts
If you really want to do that, just run the RX off 4v8 as well.
But, you won't notice a difference.
For example, look at the numbers on this servo:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=16266
By dropping to 4.8v, you've added 1/100th of a second to the time at no load. That wouldn't even be detectable by human standards.
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07, 2012, 04:30 AM
Registered User
Portugal, Braga, Vila Nova de Famalic„o
Joined Oct 2009
131 Posts
In that case it wont make much of a difference but in my servo it makes a noticeable difference...
I found out that in order for it to work you need to share a common ground between the signal wire and the negative pole.
oacilamaf is offline Find More Posts by oacilamaf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07, 2012, 07:28 AM
Registered User
Cougar429's Avatar
Canada, ON, Windsor
Joined Apr 2008
901 Posts
I believe that is the same module I grabbed early on from Digikey. It did not last long since running with no output load, (voltmeter only) had it fry.

All the previous recommendations are correct. Trying to set servo sweep speed with input voltage is the wrong method for many reasons. That's why the very inexpensive servo slower from HK is far less problematic.

The only problem with those is the update speed does not play well with digital servos and makes them rather notchy.

p.s. A lot of programmable transmitters now have servo speed options you can set yourself.
Cougar429 is online now Find More Posts by Cougar429
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07, 2012, 08:31 AM
Dave the Rave
dmccormick001's Avatar
Joined Jun 2007
857 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oacilamaf View Post
Its a normal servo, i just want it to move slower.
Can you help me with the wiring?
As the other guys here are trying to explain, a "normal" servo cannot be slowed down by simply reducing or adjusting the voltage going to it. That's just not how they work. Google "Pulse Width Modulation" or "PWM" for an explaination of how it works. The voltage going to the servo is constant, it does not vary. The 3rd wire from the receiver, the signal wire, carries a pulse that tells the servo where it's supposed to be. If the servo isn't already there, it tries to get there as quickly as it can. If you want to slow a normal servo down, you have to have a device that intercepts that signal and sends it to the servo in increments over a longer period of time. Some are adjustable, some aren't, but they all work the same way, and as for wiring, they are simply inserted between the servo and the receiver.

Reducing the voltage will cause lots of problems and could even damage the servo eventually.
dmccormick001 is online now Find More Posts by dmccormick001
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07, 2012, 09:19 AM
Thermite + ice = Big boom.
boaterguy's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Apr 2009
1,883 Posts
If you had some EE experience you could even get to the point of wiring one up yourself with a microcontroller.
boaterguy is offline Find More Posts by boaterguy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Voltage Regulators for Fuataba S9254 Tail servo mmalik4 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 1 May 10, 2011 07:12 PM
For Sale Hitec , Futaba , JR servos and Duralite Voltage Regulator rcgalore Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jan 09, 2011 09:05 PM
New Product Introducing 5v Gyro/Tail Servo Voltage Regulator - Helicopters perfectregulat Product Announcements 1 Jun 04, 2008 02:53 PM