Old Mar 30, 2014, 06:59 PM
Find More Posts by Rem Fodder
Radio-active flyer
Canada, ON, Port Hope
Joined Apr 2012
1,310 Posts
Build Log
Great Planes WACO electric conversion

This is my first attempt at converting a model designed for internal combustion to electric power and my first feeble attempt at a build log. First off I would like to acknowledge and thank the guys on the first GP WACO conversion thread for their help, without which I would not be doing this.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1456945

I kicked off this job about three weeks ago after having the model now for over a year. I basically collected the gear necessary to do the assembly and conversion over the course of the past year. That and also reading up on other successful conversions brought me to the jump off point.

First things first, the kit needed a lot of attention on the covering. I picked the kit up on a clearance sale and who knows how long it had been sitting on the shelf. The covering was in dire need of shrinking so over the course of several evenings covering tightness was achieved.

My planned propulsion system is for the model to be powered by an E-Flite Power 110 out-runner, with throttle management provided by a Castle Creations Phoenix Edge 100 amp ESC. Battery power will be provided with 8 cells series together, final size of the packs to be determined, however to get the ball rolling I do have some 4000 mah 4 cell packs ready to go.

A CC 10 amp BEC with 2 cell 1500 mah batteries will handle the radio gear. Radio is a Spektrum DX7s using the AR8000 RX. Servos are a collection of HiTecs.

My thoughts were to assemble the model, get it on the C of G jig and figure out the best battery location by test before actually doing any cutting and chopping.

That's it for now.
Rem Fodder is offline Find More Posts by Rem Fodder
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 30, 2014, 07:38 PM
Find More Posts by reno4sure
Joined May 2011
500 Posts