New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 14, 2004, 11:15 AM
Find More Posts by dave morris
orlando fl
Joined Oct 2000
5,714 Posts
BEC using a 5v reg chip

I tried to search but not working. I have a 4s lipo setup and want to make my own BEC as I dont think the one on the ESC will handle the load. I would like to be able to cover a 35 watt load (got several servos) and was wondering if one of the 3 pin 5v reg ic could handle it? I am not an electronics expert so plain english please on how it would go. I have looked into the sbec, and ubec, but would like to keep it a little cheap and light
dave morris is offline Find More Posts by dave morris
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2004, 12:21 PM
Find More Posts by Chippie
North East England UK
Joined Jan 2003
1,434 Posts
the majority of the 5v regs or even adjustable one's wont cater for that sort of load....7amps-ish...(35 watts @ nominal 5v I reckon)
If you dont wanna go the Ubec route then the other option is to use a series pass transistor to carry the extra load, then the project is starting to become involved...unless any one else has any ideas ? ;P
Chippie is offline Find More Posts by Chippie
Old Apr 14, 2004, 12:49 PM
Find More Posts by jeffs555
"Simplify, then add lightness"
Raleigh,NC
Joined Nov 2000
2,701 Posts