SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 15, 2003, 10:50 PM
Walled Lake, MI, USA
Joined Feb 2000
11,182 Posts
Adjustable Voltage Power Supply Question

I was considering ordering a Pyramid PS-21KX regulated 12V 20A power supply for $59.99 from etronics.com to power my battery chargers. Then I noticed below it a Pyramid PS-26KX regulated adjustable voltage 25A power supply for $25 more -- $84.99.

I'm still learning about electronics, so I may be off base here. But would it be possible to use this adjustable voltage power supply for static testing motors and props? I've been doing static testing with battery packs. But I was thinking that perhaps an adjustable voltage power supply would be better as it would hold a steady voltage and make A-B testing more accurate.

Am I on the right track here, or is another device different from this adjustable voltage power supply required for static testing motors? If the PS-26KX could serve a dual purpose of running battery chargers as well as supplying power for static testing, it would be worth the extra $25 to me.

http://etronics.resultspage.com/disp...wersupply&rk=5
Dave Hederich is offline Find More Posts by Dave Hederich
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 15, 2003, 11:58 PM
Senior Moment Member
SF Bay Area, CA
Joined Jul 2002
1,426 Posts
It would be OK, but a PS that allowed voltage adjustment down to zero and adjustable current would be much better. There are times when limiting the amount of current can save a motor, battery, or whatever. Otherwise, if a connected motor, battery or whatever shorts out, the PS will dump up to it's 25 amp limit into it and let out the smoke really fast. Also, the lower voltage limit of 6 volts is too high for breaking-in a motor or some other uses. I use a power supply that is rated 0-24 volts, 0-12 amps. I have another rated at 0-20 volts, 0-50 amps. With these adjustments, I can even charge Li-ion/poly cells without fear.