HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 19, 2013, 03:33 PM
Wisdom can not be granted.
Orion Pax's Avatar
Shreveport Louisiana
Joined Dec 2006
6,300 Posts
Question
Noob FPV Question

OK, so I bought this setup from FPVHobby.com

http://www.fpvhobby.com/143-sub-nano-combo-set.html

I have this receiver.

http://www.fpvhobby.com/57-4-ghz-8-ch-a-v-receiver.html

I soldered everything up according to the website last night. I plugged it in to try it out and I will get a signal every once and a while and it is a really badly scrambled black and white video signal. It is brief and random when I get the signal. I am using a 1s 120mAh lipo and the camera and transmitter components are getting hot.

Any idea what I did wrong and what I need to do to make this thing work?

Thanks,
Orion
Orion Pax is offline Find More Posts by Orion Pax
Last edited by Orion Pax; Jan 19, 2013 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 19, 2013, 04:46 PM
The trees are my hangar
omer921's Avatar
United States, NY, Queens County
Joined Dec 2010
343 Posts
The problem is that the video is being transmitted on a 2.4ghz signal. You bought a 5.8ghz receiver. You need a 2.4ghz receiver like this: http://www.fpvhobby.com/57-4-ghz-8-ch-a-v-receiver.html
omer921 is offline Find More Posts by omer921
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 04:49 PM
Wisdom can not be granted.
Orion Pax's Avatar
Shreveport Louisiana
Joined Dec 2006
6,300 Posts
Sorry, I linked the wrong one. I do have the 2.4 receiver you linked.
Orion Pax is offline Find More Posts by Orion Pax
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 04:51 PM
The Luftwaffle
Waffleman's Avatar
United States, FL, DeLand
Joined Sep 2012
1,000 Posts
Dou you have an anntenna on the reciever??
Waffleman is offline Find More Posts by Waffleman
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 05:01 PM
The trees are my hangar
omer921's Avatar
United States, NY, Queens County
Joined Dec 2010
343 Posts
You also might be on the wrong receiver channel, you need to set it to 2468mhz (channel 4) because the transmitter you bought only broadcasts on that signal.
omer921 is offline Find More Posts by omer921
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 05:42 PM
Wisdom can not be granted.
Orion Pax's Avatar
Shreveport Louisiana
Joined Dec 2006
6,300 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waffleman View Post
Dou you have an anntenna on the reciever??
Yes I do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by omer921 View Post
You also might be on the wrong receiver channel, you need to set it to 2468mhz (channel 4) because the transmitter you bought only broadcasts on that signal.
It doesn't even blip on channel 4. If I put it on Channel 1 or 8 I will get the random scrambled image.
Orion Pax is offline Find More Posts by Orion Pax
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:13 AM
The trees are my hangar
omer921's Avatar
United States, NY, Queens County
Joined Dec 2010
343 Posts
Can you send a picture of your setup? Maybe you have a cold solder, or you connected one of the wires to the wrong.
omer921 is offline Find More Posts by omer921
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:27 PM
Wisdom can not be granted.
Orion Pax's Avatar
Shreveport Louisiana
Joined Dec 2006
6,300 Posts
Here is a pic.



It may look like the positive and negative wires are touching on the transmitter board but they are not. There is no way anything is cold soldered. The camera board was easy. They at least had solder on that board ready to go. I did have trouble with the transmitter board and I think they should have put solder on that one too to make my life easier. With a large picture like this I can see that the chip behind the positive wire looks to have heat damage. Chances are that with all the mucking around I had to do to get the wires soldered to the transmitter board, I may have gotten that chip too hot.

Thoughts?
Orion Pax is offline Find More Posts by Orion Pax
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:43 PM
The trees are my hangar
omer921's Avatar
United States, NY, Queens County
Joined Dec 2010
343 Posts
Everything is soldered correctly, personally I would try to resolder the positive and negative and cover all the solder connections with tape or something in order to prevent a short circuit. You can also try to connect the camera to a DVR or something that would allow you to check if the camera is working properly. Also try to contact FPV Hobby, they may have better answers.
omer921 is offline Find More Posts by omer921
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:53 PM
Wisdom can not be granted.
Orion Pax's Avatar
Shreveport Louisiana
Joined Dec 2006
6,300 Posts
I don't own a DVR so not sure how that will work. I was trying to set it up through my laptop but the D60 Easycap I bought had a warped disk so I could not get the program to load.

I have tried to contact FPV Hobby several times short of making the international call and I never get any responses. Not to pleased with them right now.
Orion Pax is offline Find More Posts by Orion Pax
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:44 PM
Registered User
nanobot9000's Avatar
Pennsylvania
Joined Nov 2008
219 Posts
FPVHobby frustration

Glad to find this post, but sorry you are having trouble. I just got a sub-nano unit at the holidays and experimented with a few different gauges of wire as my boards got rather warm too. I do not have any shorts and have good solder connections. The camera works great with my TMART 4-ch USB DVR and I have a good picture, but I am concerned about the heat. I have isolated the boards to eliminate shorts but no change. I thought maybe it was my smaller gauge wire that I had used to keep it as light as possible. I emailed FPVHobby at least 4 times and have not had any reply. I like the product, but bad customer service for sure!

Mike
nanobot9000 is offline Find More Posts by nanobot9000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:04 PM
Head full of foam
United States, NE, Omaha
Joined Jan 2013
324 Posts
@ nano & Orion

Did either of you EVER connect power to the TX without an antenna hooked up?

And nano, Vtx's get warm. They get REAL warm for a few seconds without an antenna, that's right before they burn themselves up. Some RF TX'ers have two stages of amplification (not sure about tiny TX like these) or more. With no antenna you burn out the last output stage but it's driver is still working. From a few feet you'd get a faint signal from that driver....
RuralFPV is offline Find More Posts by RuralFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:48 PM
The Luftwaffle
Waffleman's Avatar
United States, FL, DeLand
Joined Sep 2012
1,000 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuralFPV View Post
@ nano & Orion

Did either of you EVER connect power to the TX without an antenna hooked up?

And nano, Vtx's get warm. They get REAL warm for a few seconds without an antenna, that's right before they burn themselves up. Some RF TX'ers have two stages of amplification (not sure about tiny TX like these) or more. With no antenna you burn out the last output stage but it's driver is still working. From a few feet you'd get a faint signal from that driver....
at this scale, the anntenna comes pre-soldered on the TX already.
Waffleman is offline Find More Posts by Waffleman
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 10:05 PM
Wisdom can not be granted.
Orion Pax's Avatar
Shreveport Louisiana
Joined Dec 2006
6,300 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuralFPV View Post
@ nano & Orion

Did either of you EVER connect power to the TX without an antenna hooked up?
.
I did not. everything was soldered before first power up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waffleman View Post
at this scale, the anntenna comes pre-soldered on the TX already.
That is an incorrect statement. Mine was not and it is advertised as not.

I will say this, if the manufacturer took the time to put solder on the transmitter board like they did the camera board, it would make life a lot easier.

Orion
Orion Pax is offline Find More Posts by Orion Pax
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 07:13 AM
The Luftwaffle
Waffleman's Avatar
United States, FL, DeLand
Joined Sep 2012
1,000 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orion Pax View Post

That is an incorrect statement. Mine was not and it is advertised as not.

Orion
I didn't realize that. All of the units I have seen online have an antenna already soldered.
Waffleman is offline Find More Posts by Waffleman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Noob question alert about telemetry !!!! ferincr DIY Electronics 17 Feb 03, 2013 11:32 AM
Discussion I need help....im a noob doublehorse 9053 battery question BigRob1823 Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 2 Jan 16, 2013 11:51 PM
Help! Noob question with esc and bldc motor monti73 Multirotor Electronics 7 Jan 10, 2013 07:05 PM
Discussion Noob skinning question Adub Balsa Builders 9 Jan 10, 2013 11:14 AM
Discussion complete noob to boats with a few questions slim_chance Dock Talk 2 Jan 04, 2013 10:05 PM