Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 02, 2012, 04:11 AM
Zurich
Joined Apr 2006
3,535 Posts
Discussion
a more effective & efficient type of stabilization & control

Note that the gull/Möve [click on thumbnail photo below] basically IS a Nurflügel .... but his wings have a different shape, incl. conical camber to utilize spanwise flow for both control AND stability in a much more aerodynamically efficient way that is actually OPPOSITE to the Horten, B-2, etc. It is VORTEX control !

If you could do that with a model Nurflügel it would have a much higher L/D and could fly both a lot faster AND a lot slower, with more control and the "strange" ability/feature of automatically heading into green air [lift], be it mechanical or thermal!!.

I know this for a FACT and after I discovered it have used this principle in a simple way in some of the mass-mkt toys I created.

B.t.w., I am a Physicist & Engineer; two friends of mine, both top level Aerodynamicists, one ex-Boeing, now at the top of an international Aerospace research organization, the other, high level at EADS .... both think I am "on to something new and unexplored" [except of course by birds, around for ca. 85,000,000 years to sort this out, and Pterosaurs, who could conform their wings 3-dimensionally using lots of muscles in their skin membranes, like we have in our faces].

Lee

[NOTE: this of course also works as a pure Nurflügel, but I cannot post that unproduced version]

R/C Pterosaur (1 min 6 sec)

TRU Pterodactyl (0 min 22 sec)
xlcrlee is offline Find More Posts by xlcrlee
Last edited by xlcrlee; Dec 02, 2012 at 12:13 PM. Reason: upid stypo
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2012, 06:32 AM
Zurich
Joined Apr 2006
3,535 Posts
physical examples available [to my surprise]

Looking for a better photo to post, I just now discovered that the Acrobird is still being sold, although those b***tards at ITC have neither informed me nor sent any royalties since its inception.