SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 29, 2012, 02:40 PM
Gladstone, NJ. USA
Joined May 2000
408 Posts
Discussion
Hobby Zone Champ...Great Flyer but....

Hi Guys:
Two years ago, I purchased a Hobby Zone Champ for my Grandson in Charlotte, NC. I have been flying R/C model airplanes for 40+ years. I was very impressed with everything about the Champ. Great manual - clearly written and illustrated - Well packaged with integral carrying / storage case.
Flying was great - right off the board. A little sensitive - but one gets used to it. I go to see my grandson 3 times a year. Christmas, Mid-March and September. Each time we bring out the champ, I replace ALL batteries - charge it up and go flying... The last time I was there, I noticed that one of the two airborne batteries, would not take a charge. No problem, we purchased another - New battery. discarded the other. A couple of days ago, Flying conditions were winds about 5mph, temp about 50 degrees F. Flew one flight, but about a 2 minutes flying - about
150 up and out. I lost control....OK...did not land out of the field. I examined the flight connector - and noticed that one contact was visably bent down.
I repaired this buy bending into position and re-attaching the battery several times to insure operation. Connected the new fully" charged battery
and flew great... for about 3 min. This time it was somewhat higher before
I intended to hand it off to my grandson. All of a sudden--- No control - no power to at the airplane. The little "Champ" became a small speck in the sky...
Finally we lost sight of it, and spent the next 2-1/2 hours driving around the supposed landing area to no avail! Alas. our little Champ was lost.
30 or more years ago this was a pretty common and for a multitude of reasons i.e. Poor battery condition, bad connection(s) some where in the system(s). The batteries were replaced in Trans & Charger, before each session. I used only new "Duracell" batteries.