HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:19 PM
Joined Jan 2013
79 Posts
Question
First rock crawler recommendations

I am pretty new to the hobby. I have had a rustler vxl, a t-maxx knockoff and my son has a losi mini crawler. I am curently getting a savage xs flux running after getting it used with no esc (burnt up). I like the go fast toys but my more expensive hobby (trail riding my jeep) makes me want a rc crawler. I like the idea of the wraith but not necessarily the price. I have also checked out the exceed mad torque model and like the simplicity of it. Any recomendations on diferent models or are these pretty solid starting platfotms?
wehan is offline Find More Posts by wehan
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 19, 2013, 03:21 PM
Joined Dec 2012
10 Posts
Maxstone 10 from nitrorcx

I have a maxstone 10 and so far(have had it for 5 years) it has been a great rc crawler. I have a different body for it thought because the body was rubbing on the tires. Overall it is a great truck.
marshall s is offline Find More Posts by marshall s
Old Jan 20, 2013, 10:53 AM
oh that guy
Joined Sep 2012
135 Posts
The list is long when it comes to that question. It really depends what you really want. A starter rock crawler or a starter scale truck.
As far as rock crawlers go you also need to think about if you want a shaft driven or a motor on axle. My personal favorite is axial ax10 rigs either the scorpion or ridgecrest. But not every ones top choice because there are great rigs made by Losi, Hpi, Tamiya, Redcat, Venom, Kyosho, and Exceed. There are more companies out there but I cant think of them off the top of my head. I have heard to stay away from kamodo they are an axial knock off with crappy components.

But if you want a more realistic rig go for a scaler. Like the scx10 from axial. Most of the companies I listed plus more offer kits or rtr.