HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 25, 2012, 08:06 PM
numnutchris
Joined Sep 2009
412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikarro View Post
?
whats your point?
numnutchris is online now Find More Posts by numnutchris
Last edited by numnutchris; Dec 25, 2012 at 08:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:30 AM
Flying Low
cbarnes0061's Avatar
United States, VA, Petersburg
Joined Mar 2012
578 Posts
Just got a new 8J for Christmas. First impressions are that it's pretty nice. I'm getting a bit comfused in the programming but that's caused by this be my first ever programable radio so I will figure it out after playing with it some more.
cbarnes0061 is offline Find More Posts by cbarnes0061
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2013, 07:05 PM
Your Pilot Ryan
ryramZ's Avatar
United States, IN, South Bend
Joined Nov 2008
3,280 Posts
Does the 8j work with the flyzone select line? Like the corsair and the beaver
ryramZ is online now Find More Posts by ryramZ
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:03 AM
no discrimination, I crash all
ncsky's Avatar
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Nov 2011
292 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryramZ View Post
Does the 8j work with the flyzone select line? Like the corsair and the beaver
it will if you use anylink module. The anylink works with the tactic rx that come in those planes. Tower usually run a special where anylink adapter included with plane. You can also put a
futaba rx in plane if you do not want to use anylink.
8j is a great system.
ncsky is offline Find More Posts by ncsky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:18 AM
Registered User
Buschbarber's Avatar
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Apr 2004
1,123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncsky View Post
it will if you use anylink module. The anylink works with the tactic rx that come in those planes. Tower usually run a special where anylink adapter included with plane. You can also put a
futaba rx in plane if you do not want to use anylink.
8j is a great system.
To be more specific, a Futaba S-FHSS receiver.
Buschbarber is online now Find More Posts by Buschbarber
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:12 AM
no discrimination, I crash all
ncsky's Avatar
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Nov 2011
292 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buschbarber View Post
To be more specific, a Futaba S-FHSS receiver.
exactly +1, which are low cost for a genuine futaba receiver. Mine has worked great so far.
ncsky is offline Find More Posts by ncsky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 05:53 PM
Flying Low
cbarnes0061's Avatar
United States, VA, Petersburg
Joined Mar 2012
578 Posts
Question for all. The R2008SB reciever that comes with this transmitter is high voltage capable and according to towerhobbies website you can run a unregulated 2s lipo battery on it to give you your high voltage. has anybody tried this yet or should it have a regulator on it. I would prefer to run a lipo for the wieght savings.
cbarnes0061 is offline Find More Posts by cbarnes0061
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:17 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Clemson
Joined Dec 2011
113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbarnes0061 View Post
Question for all. The R2008SB reciever that comes with this transmitter is high voltage capable and according to towerhobbies website you can run a unregulated 2s lipo battery on it to give you your high voltage. has anybody tried this yet or should it have a regulator on it. I would prefer to run a lipo for the wieght savings.
My guess it would work. However I bet the servos have to be willing to take the unregulated voltage too. I would doubt that there is a regulator built into the receiver.
redradar is offline Find More Posts by redradar
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 09:18 PM
Flying Low
cbarnes0061's Avatar
United States, VA, Petersburg
Joined Mar 2012
578 Posts
Ok the servos I will be running are HV capable.
cbarnes0061 is offline Find More Posts by cbarnes0061
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 10:12 PM
Your Pilot Ryan
ryramZ's Avatar
United States, IN, South Bend
Joined Nov 2008
3,280 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncsky View Post
it will if you use anylink module. The anylink works with the tactic rx that come in those planes. Tower usually run a special where anylink adapter included with plane. You can also put a
futaba rx in plane if you do not want to use anylink.
8j is a great system.
Thanks, got it figured out. I've been flying dx6i dsmx. I wasn't sure I'd like this futaba but after setting up a couple planes I'm really beginning to like it.
ryramZ is online now Find More Posts by ryramZ
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 11, 2013, 07:24 PM
no discrimination, I crash all
ncsky's Avatar
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Nov 2011
292 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryramZ View Post
Thanks, got it figured out. I've been flying dx6i dsmx. I wasn't sure I'd like this futaba but after setting up a couple planes I'm really beginning to like it.
great! I moved from dx6i as well,
love the futaba 8J
ncsky is offline Find More Posts by ncsky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 08:40 PM
Registered User
United States, PA, Bethel Park
Joined Mar 2010
26 Posts
Has anyone run a LRS system with this Radio? I am looking at the DragonLink. But it seems The LRS needs at least 8v to run. The 8j will not output that from the 4 batteries or the rechargeable packs. Can this radio run on a 3s unregulated? What lipos fit in the battery door?
A468BU is offline Find More Posts by A468BU
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:56 AM
Registered User
United States, NY, Homer
Joined Nov 2006
34 Posts
Does anyone see a problem flying a 100cc yak with this radio? I got it on a good deal new but am not a fan of just 4 dry cell batts for power.
hoofhearted is online now Find More Posts by hoofhearted
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:21 AM
numnutchris
Joined Sep 2009
412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoofhearted View Post
Does anyone see a problem flying a 100cc yak with this radio? I got it on a good deal new but am not a fan of just 4 dry cell batts for power.
I dont see why not, following radio installation guidelines, sufficient power to the electronics and so on. I sqeezed in 5 cells into mine and occasionally run on 2S (w voltage dropdown to comply with the 5cell/ ~5V battery warning).
And youre adviced to ask at the Futaba direct support forum
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/forumid_125/tt.htm
concerning range, large scale & other issues
numnutchris is online now Find More Posts by numnutchris
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:22 AM
Flying Low
cbarnes0061's Avatar
United States, VA, Petersburg
Joined Mar 2012
578 Posts
Futaba makes rechargeable packs for this radio
cbarnes0061 is offline Find More Posts by cbarnes0061
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Airtronics FHSS-1 FHSS-2 FHSS-3 aeajr Radios 3 Mar 02, 2012 04:21 PM
Discussion Why are there no FHSS or Spektrum style vtx's? randall1959 FPV Talk 14 Sep 04, 2011 04:34 PM
For Sale Like new Futaba 6J 6-Channel 2.4GHz S-FHSS Tx/Rx(SOLD) thundercl58 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 May 21, 2011 05:04 PM
Discussion 2.4GHz FHSS Futaba 4YF JJ OROŅO Radios 7 Jan 28, 2010 04:08 PM
Discussion Futaba SS, is it FHSS or DSSS d_wheel Radios 36 Jan 12, 2008 09:11 AM