HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 20, 2014, 10:57 PM
Joined Mar 2014
59 Posts
Discussion
Fokker Dr.1 - Prop Shaft Issue

I was wondering if anyone else has had this problem. I took my Fokker out today. It was my first flight with it. I am a noob here! I have been flying my Champ for a couple weeks now, and it's a great little plane, and boy, can it take a beating well. Well, I figured the Fokker would be fun to fly….I was wrong. As soon as the thing took off it stalled, and stalled, and stalled (tail heavy) and then it crashed nose-down and the top wing ripped right off, and the tail ripped right off at the hinge. So, I was okay with this, no problem…nothing that tape and glue can't fix.

Then I turned on the tx to test my newly taped tail/rudder, and decided to check the prop by giving it throttle, and I noticed the prop was not getting full power…..and missing. So I grabbed the prop and it jiggles, and pulls slightly in and out. So then I pulled the nose cover, and engine cover off (foam parts) to check the prop, and it appears the prop is sliding forward and back, and as a result is not letting the two white gears track correctly at all. The prop shaft has too much play now. Something has come loose, but I can't for the life of me figure out what that is. As long as the prop shaft is shimmying forward and backward there is no way the gears will stay together and turn correctly to get this thing flying again. I can't figure out what held it in place to begin with????? The shaft is slipping forward, so now the gears are separating.

Has anyone else run into this at all?

This makes me so mad, as I haven't even flown this thing yet. I understand these things are made of foam, and have to be light, but damn, you'd think they'd make them a bit more sturdier….like the Champ.
smittyboy is offline Find More Posts by smittyboy
Last edited by smittyboy; Jun 20, 2014 at 11:10 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 21, 2014, 08:30 AM
Canada, QC, Laval