Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 29, 2012, 04:02 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinduplessis View Post
My brother in law asked me to help him spot game in Namibia using my FPV setup. Quite keen to see if it can work out. Just trying to figure out how to pack my Skywalker so it can travel the 2000km and back with 4 people's baggage...

I could always FPV it up from the back seat...
You'll find it very difficult to spot them with the flight camera.
Resolution is too low, contrast too high, moving too fast.
HD camera can see em if you know what you're looking for. Becomes easier
to pick em up over time.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 29, 2012, 04:24 PM
If it's to be, it's up to me.
subsonic's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jan 2007
3,055 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamChicago View Post
I'm not as concerned about cruising performance as much as I am with launch performance and this power setup (motor, batt, prop) is rated for 2.7kgs of thrust which should be more than enough for a fast and steep climb

Although am considering a folding prop for cruising efficiency.
What I'd like to know is how much the handling has been compromised by moving the motor thrust line up that much. The high thrust line should change the trim of the aircraft between power on and power off even more than the standard configuration. I'm sure all would love to fit a larger prop to the Skywalker for improved efficiency and lower noise, but is it a compromise too far in one direction?

Have you flown it FPV yet?
subsonic is online now Find More Posts by subsonic
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2012, 04:39 PM
OSUFPV - KF7VFT
Corvallis, OR
Joined Apr 2010
1,761 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subsonic View Post
What I'd like to know is how much the handling has been compromised by moving the motor thrust line up that much. The high thrust line should change the trim of the aircraft between power on and power off even more than the standard configuration. I'm sure all would love to fit a larger prop to the Skywalker for improved efficiency and lower noise, but is it a compromise too far in one direction?
I run a 11x7 and have the motor mounted even further up than his and it's fine.
Does make the plane nose down more than stock WOT but you can fix that
with mixing or not at all. I didn't even bother, its not that hard to pull up a little
harder than normal on takeoff and if your plane has the correct CG the throws
should be more than able to handle it.

-Blues
Blueshy is online now Find More Posts by Blueshy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2012, 05:14 PM
If it's to be, it's up to me.
subsonic's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jan 2007
3,055 Posts
And the larger prop would have more torque for the same thrust as well. Do you have to adjust the rudder or aileron trim to fly straight at different speeds?

Sub.
subsonic is online now Find More Posts by subsonic
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2012, 09:54 PM
OSUFPV - KF7VFT
Corvallis, OR
Joined Apr 2010
1,761 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subsonic View Post
Do you have to adjust the rudder or aileron trim to fly straight at different speeds?
Not at all. There's very little torque roll.

-Blues
Blueshy is online now Find More Posts by Blueshy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 12:27 AM
Foam Snow
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Aug 2011
1,320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
You'll find it very difficult to spot them with the flight camera.
Resolution is too low, contrast too high, moving too fast.
HD camera can see em if you know what you're looking for. Becomes easier
to pick em up over time.

ian
Does not help that they're very well camouflaged either :/ But worth a try - they might stand out looking straight down. I'm often surprised how a well trained eye can pick up objects that is noise for others.
heinduplessis is offline Find More Posts by heinduplessis
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 01:23 AM
Fly Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!
EarthOrbiter's Avatar
Central California USA
Joined Feb 2011
379 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamChicago View Post
Well I had a new SW fuse (version 1) in the closet for extra parts and decided it was time to scrap the old fuse I had for the last 3 years and replace it...keeping the original wings though

New: Scorpion 3026-12 motor with 12x6 prop...yes, you can fit a 12in prop on the SW
- And CF reinforced tail and boom
I use a SW 4 blade APC 10 X 6.
However on a Scorpion SII 3026 1190K per volt on the ground holding it the tail wobbles very much.
EarthOrbiter is offline Find More Posts by EarthOrbiter
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 01:25 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinduplessis View Post
Does not help that they're very well camouflaged either :/ But worth a try - they might stand out looking straight down. I'm often surprised how a well trained eye can pick up objects that is noise for others.
There's a huge difference between a well trained eye, and a 640x480
CCD Security camera.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 30, 2012, 01:34 AM
Foam Snow
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Aug 2011
1,320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
There's a huge difference between a well trained eye, and a 640x480
CCD Security camera.

ian
Well so much for keeping my battery dry

I'm short a well trained eye, too! I have a 600tvl camera coming, maybe that will help, though I think the Fatshark's LCD is the limiting factor.

I might spot the odd giraffe and rhino.. or an antelope with a red scarf.
heinduplessis is offline Find More Posts by heinduplessis
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 01:47 AM
Fly Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!
EarthOrbiter's Avatar
Central California USA
Joined Feb 2011
379 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinduplessis View Post
Well so much for keeping my battery dry

I'm short a well trained eye, too! I have a 600tvl camera coming, maybe that will help, though I think the Fatshark's LCD is the limiting factor.

I might spot the odd giraffe and rhino.. or an antelope with a red scarf.
Such is a sight that a eye can do in discovering distance equaling rate times time to the coordination of a given RC component and build. It takes some time to feel how a RC build flies. Some learn faster and wont crash as fast
EarthOrbiter is offline Find More Posts by EarthOrbiter
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 05:46 AM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Brasil, CE, Fortaleza
Joined Jun 2011
1,100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthOrbiter View Post
I use a SW 4 blade APC 10 X 6.
However on a Scorpion SII 3026 1190K per volt on the ground holding it the tail wobbles very much.
I use a 3 Blade 9X8 a hard one and will try a 9X7X3 so see if I can get a little more RPM and not reach over 50Amp on WOT.
With these props I don't have to do anything, just mount then.

Mauro
mauromassari is offline Find More Posts by mauromassari
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 06:44 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Redding
Joined Jul 2004
83 Posts
Help with placing my ESC

Hi guys. I'm nearing the completion of my SW 1900 and have a question.

I will be using a CC HV45 on 4cells with a Scorpion 3014 in my SW. I was planning on mounting in the area under the wing, but this might prove difficult if I want to keep the ESC away from my GPS and EZ-UHF.

Now i'm thinking about mounting it in the lower fuse all the way to the back, but don't know if mounting the ESC on top of my VTX wires will cause problems??? Both my VTX and ESC have toroidal rings on them. Still worth asking the question.

Thanks for any help,

Todd
Opus44 is offline Find More Posts by Opus44
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 09:44 AM
Registered User
snelan's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
413 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthOrbiter View Post
I use a SW 4 blade APC 10 X 6.
However on a Scorpion SII 3026 1190K per volt on the ground holding it the tail wobbles very much.
The 4 blade might create more turbulence than a 2 blade. Also, when doing ground tests like that, there is much more turbulence than there would be in the air, when you are moving, and not forcing the air past the tail as much, etc.

EDIT: I fly a SW now, but I once had an EPP FPV where if I did full throttle on the ground the vertical stab would literally fall off from shaking, but in the air it was fine.
snelan is offline Find More Posts by snelan
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 10:27 AM
MK3
Aerial Loitering
MK3's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
432 Posts
Does BevRC sell 1680 wings? I'm really disliking the 1900 wings. Actually if anyone wants to sell their 1680 in good condition PM me
MK3 is offline Find More Posts by MK3
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 01:50 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
12,328 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthOrbiter View Post
Such is a sight that a eye can do in discovering distance equaling rate times time to the coordination of a given RC component and build. It takes some time to feel how a RC build flies. Some learn faster and wont crash as fast
Uh ???
carguy1994ca is offline Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 23 Aug 08, 2010 06:27 AM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM