HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 19, 2013, 12:04 PM
Registered User
Italy, Lazio, Rome
Joined Aug 2011
8 Posts
Question
DX6 settings for a DLG with ailerons

Hello, I'm flying with a MIMI and I use my Spektrum DX6 which is suitable for a two channel DLG. Now i'm buying an used 1,5 m DLG with ailerons and before to buy a new radio with more channels and mix (probably a DX8), I'd like to use the DX6. Which is the best way to use it? Which settings may I do?
Thank you very much
Domenico
ddtvela is offline Find More Posts by ddtvela
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 19, 2013, 12:54 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,818 Posts
Well I'll tell you what you can't do with a DX-6.... Since the flap function is limited to flap/no flap, and the switches are not very assignable, multiple flight camber settings are not doable. You will have your normal flight flap position and the ability to add one more switched setting.

Beyond that, the radio can be programed for everything you need including a launch preset, by slaving the elevator to the gear channel switch.

You could probably get " live camber" on the throttle stick by mixing the throttle and flap channels, But you will not have precise settings and flap-elevator compensation, and elevator compensation is not an option... You will run out of programmable mixes.
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 02:28 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, West Linn
Joined Feb 2010
52 Posts
Just to be clear, you are referring to the DX6 park flyer radio and not the DX6i?

I'm not familiar with the DX6, but the DX6i can do most of what you need to get by for now. You certainly do run out of programmable mixes. I have 3 camber positions programmed on mine, but one of my camber settings is also my launch present so I really only have 2 flight camber modes, which I think is what Nathan was saying. It takes 2 switches to get the 3 camber positions.

You can also mix flaps and elevator.

Also can have full adjustment via the left stick (throttle).

The thing I most dislike is not having the launch preset on a momentary switch. The only one available is the trainer switch, which is also used for range testing, so I don't want to re-map it.

The DX6i is not a great solution, but like you, it's what I have, so that's what I'm using.

I can send you my settings later if you want. I'm a noob, so you might find something better, but my control positions have been reviewed by some great flyers, so at least there's that.

--Bill
Rewinged is online now Find More Posts by Rewinged
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 03:24 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,818 Posts
Thanks Bill.... i had forgotten about the DSM1 and the range issues, but the dx6 and dx6i ARE virtually identical as far as the basic programming options are concerned.

The 6 was based on the JR 6102 (fm) radio (which I have). The 6 is DSM1 series broadcast technology which is short range, outdated, and only compatable with the old short range receivers that were supplied with the radio. Seriously not a good choice, not even for a mini DLG. If this is what you have, you better land after the first thermal turn or the plane will be too far away for solid control!!

The 6i is modern, full range DSM2 technology and it is compatable with much better receivers. Beyond that the 6i has an updated case with a scroll wheel and bigger display. The basic number of functions is the same as its predecessors, there are no added model memories, mixes, etc.
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 04:20 PM
Registered User
Italy, Lazio, Rome
Joined Aug 2011
8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rewinged View Post
Just to be clear, you are referring to the DX6 park flyer radio and not the DX6i?

I'm not familiar with the DX6, but the DX6i can do most of what you need to get by for now. You certainly do run out of programmable mixes. I have 3 camber positions programmed on mine, but one of my camber settings is also my launch present so I really only have 2 flight camber modes, which I think is what Nathan was saying. It takes 2 switches to get the 3 camber positions.

You can also mix flaps and elevator.

Also can have full adjustment via the left stick (throttle).

The thing I most dislike is not having the launch preset on a momentary switch. The only one available is the trainer switch, which is also used for range testing, so I don't want to re-map it.

The DX6i is not a great solution, but like you, it's what I have, so that's what I'm using.

I can send you my settings later if you want. I'm a noob, so you might find something better, but my control positions have been reviewed by some great flyers, so at least there's that.

--Bill
Hi Bill, my radio is a DX 6 i, I am interessed at your settings. Can you tell me please ? Thank you Domenico
ddtvela is offline Find More Posts by ddtvela
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 04:21 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, West Linn
Joined Feb 2010
52 Posts
sort of off-topic, but related...

Nathan, I didn't notice your "title" under your avatar until just now: "Ground Penetration Specialist." I think I can share that title...The lack of a momentary switch for my launch preset, perhaps coupled with a little temperature-based change in control settings, caused my to half-loop my last launch a week ago. Being a noob, I didn't recover quick enough. Buried the nose about 4 inches deep, broke an aileron servo arm, and cracked a joint in the nose. Lucky the damage wasn't worse.

I had very little elevator pre-set, and this was after about 15 flights earlier ending just about 15 minutes prior, so I'm not totally sure what happened. But I did penetrate the ground quite nicely!

--Bill
Rewinged is online now Find More Posts by Rewinged
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 06:37 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,818 Posts
More slightly off topic babble (but still good stuff)

Bahaha Bill

My title is not exclusive, feel free to tag along if you think your qualified...
I have pile driven more than a couple of planes....and motorcycles.... And mountain bikes, and even kites!! Lol. Do broken shovel handles count?

On a related note...
Having lost several planes because of launch button mishaps, I have been experimenting with an unconventional, but maybe more fool proof, launch method.

My momentary switch is set to raise the flaps into reflex, and zero the elevator trim such that the plane is in a no lift, no drag, straight ballistic missile.

I have my speed mode set up as follows..... wing trimmed level trailing edge, and the elevator trimmed to pull out of a dive and fly at a medium-high speed in level flight.

This configuration allows me to launch without needing to hold a switch. The speed setting, at launch velocity, pulls up rather nicely all by itself...nice and consistent.

So I launch in speed mode, depress and hold the momentary button to fix the launch trajectory.... As the plane slows before the push over the switch is released....now back in speed mode for a split second the wing makes just a bit more lift and extends the climb. Then push over as usual and either run in speed mode or click right into cruise.

In windy conditions I will hold the momentary until the plane levels itself out, this technique allows massive upwind penetration. Or the flip side, for a down wind run, I don't even touch the momentary switch... I let the speed mode carry the arc up and over.
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 12:04 AM
Registered User
United States, OR, West Linn
Joined Feb 2010
52 Posts
Domenico,

Here are the settings that might be relevant.

I have my launch preset on the Flap switch, and the 2 in-flight camber settings on the Gear switch.

I just took pictures of my TX. The quality isn't too good, but I think it is readable.

I hope this is helpful.

Regards,
Bill
Rewinged is online now Find More Posts by Rewinged
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Setting up DX6 for PZ F4U-1A Cobaltman06 Electric Warbirds 1 Feb 19, 2013 12:27 PM
Discussion setting up dual ailerons on ar6400 with dx6i swampflyer Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 1 Jan 14, 2013 09:17 PM
Question Need Launch pre-set starting point for a Poly wing DLG hog2soar Hand Launch 4 Jan 09, 2013 05:16 PM
Discussion Is there a way to set up the DX6 for full flaps using the ailerons? grampi Radios 2 May 22, 2007 11:32 PM
How to radio set-up for a DLG w/ ailerons RocketRonbo Hand Launch 33 Jan 16, 2005 09:19 PM