SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 20, 2010, 09:11 AM
Joined Dec 2010
2 Posts
Discussion
Finally getting into FPV, and selecting my first FPV setup!

Hey, I've been flying 3D planes for a few years, all Depron Foamies and a few EDF jets. I finally Decided I would try FPV after reading up on it for a long time.

I worked out what gear I would like to get on (a very tight) budget, which I listed below. I'm looking forward to your feedback, incase I've made a major oversight in my setup or my wallet!

This is what I currently own and plan to fly as my FPV platform:
*I'll be upgrading to something else after I get used to flying, as I'm pretty sure it can carry the extra weight.
64mm EDF Mig-15 (24x24 inches)

My main FPV Gear: Approx: $600 USD
Custom FPV Starter Package: 900MHz
* RMRC-540 Camera (with built in video settings OSD)
* 900MHz 500mW Transmitter (set at 910MHz for US/Canada sales)
* 900MHz Receiver
* 8dBi Patch Antenna
* 460mAh 3s batteries (2) or 500mAh 3s batteries (2) depending on availability
* FatShark RCV922 Video googles

* Also adding a 3dBi whip antenna for flying around myself (I'll change between the patch and the whip as needed before flight).

Note* It's winter here, so I was hoping to possibly pilot this thing from inside my car - since I have a ridiculously bad tolerance to cold in my hands due to poor circulation. The video gear won't have any problems, but my Radio TX is a problem.

---