Thread Tools
Old Feb 04, 2016, 01:25 PM
tengarang is online now
Find More Posts by tengarang
Fly Straight Fly High
tengarang's Avatar
United States, CA, San Jose
Joined Aug 2010
4,724 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooniac33 View Post
I will be on your heels very soon...

I ordered a Rocket Motor from Hobby parts... I went low KV so that I can spin a bigger prop which this plane needs. I will be putting on a 13x8x3 Master Airscrew for more vertical power and to silence... I love seeing a plane move through the air effortlessly... here is what I got...I will be installing it tonite...

http://www.hobbypartz.com/86mb96-3020-600kv.html
Sweet cant wait to see it.

Ive got a similar setup with NTM 750KV swinging the Dynam 3 blade prop which I use on my warbirds... Fast and unlimited vertical. But I do prefer overall the way my 4 blade setup flies and sounds and looks

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...0kv_785w_.html

https://www.killerplanes.com/content...t-60p-dyp-1020
tengarang is online now Find More Posts by tengarang
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 04, 2016, 07:05 PM
mclarkson is online now
Find More Posts by mclarkson
Must not buy more planes!
mclarkson's Avatar
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Jul 2010
2,877 Posts
Landing gear are finally back in stock at MotionRC.
mclarkson is online now Find More Posts by mclarkson
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2016, 08:02 PM
MaydayMayday is offline
Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Registered User
MaydayMayday's Avatar
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jul 2011
1,720 Posts
Saw the email, ordered before I missed out like last time lol.
MaydayMayday is offline Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2016, 04:34 PM
mclarkson is online now
Find More Posts by mclarkson
Must not buy more planes!
mclarkson's Avatar
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Jul 2010
2,877 Posts
Exactly! Amazingly, they are still in stock.
mclarkson is online now Find More Posts by mclarkson
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2016, 04:30 AM
mclarkson is online now
Find More Posts by mclarkson
Must not buy more planes!
mclarkson's Avatar
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Jul 2010
2,877 Posts
I'm starting the process of rebuilding mine after a brutal crash last year. Does anyone know of a good match for the stock red paint?
mclarkson is online now Find More Posts by mclarkson
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2016, 09:13 AM
gooniac33 is online now
Find More Posts by gooniac33
Registered User
gooniac33's Avatar
Sunnyvale
Joined Feb 2009
6,129 Posts
I put in a new motor and am still fiddling with props. Have settled on a 13x10 so far but will be trying a 14x10 this weekend. So much quieter and the flight times are almost double what they were before....
gooniac33 is online now Find More Posts by gooniac33
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2016, 02:45 PM
mclarkson is online now
Find More Posts by mclarkson
Must not buy more planes!
mclarkson's Avatar
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Jul 2010
2,877 Posts
Argh!!!

I got everything together, slowly, and then realized that my motor was pointing slightly up and left. I thought maybe the motor mount was bent in the crash. Didn't know.

Eventually pulled the motor back off and realized that the firewall is made to mount in a certain orientation. I'd managed to put it in upside down.

So I had to carefully, forcefully, pry the fuselage apart again along the seams so that I could get the dang thing back out and flip it over.

mclarkson is online now Find More Posts by mclarkson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2016, 03:27 PM
spaceinvader is offline
Find More Posts by spaceinvader
Registered User
spaceinvader's Avatar
Princess Anne, Md.
Joined Oct 2006
753 Posts
Just fly it inverted.
spaceinvader is offline Find More Posts by spaceinvader
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Wingsmaker Sunrise
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2016, 04:37 PM
mclarkson is online now
Find More Posts by mclarkson
Must not buy more planes!
mclarkson's Avatar
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Jul 2010
2,877 Posts
Ah-ha! Why didn't I think of that?
mclarkson is online now Find More Posts by mclarkson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2016, 04:42 PM
HeliFlyer14 is offline
Find More Posts by HeliFlyer14
Registered User
United States, OR, Corvallis
Joined May 2014
3,139 Posts
I was at a swap meet today, and missed out on a super deal. A guy bought a brand new GeeBee fuse with the cowl for only $2

Oh well, I didn't need one, so happy for him.

I did end up buying three wooden props though. I didn't remember what stock was, so I just picked three that seemed to bracket the area. I got an 11x9, 12x5, and a 12x10. All three for only $5

With the new stock motor at 1050kv running on 3s, do I need to worry about those? Of course the 12x5 is less than the stock 12x6, but the other two pull more air per turn than the stock. That 12x10 would be fun if it works. What about 4s? Could I run the 11x9 with a 4s battery?
HeliFlyer14 is offline Find More Posts by HeliFlyer14
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2016, 01:32 AM
mclarkson is online now
Find More Posts by mclarkson
Must not buy more planes!
mclarkson's Avatar
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Jul 2010
2,877 Posts
That 11x9 is actually moving a lot more air than the 12x6, even on a 3-cell, so it's gonna draw more amps.

That said, I run the stock setup on a 4-cell all the time.
mclarkson is online now Find More Posts by mclarkson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2016, 12:14 PM
HeliFlyer14 is offline
Find More Posts by HeliFlyer14
Registered User
United States, OR, Corvallis
Joined May 2014
3,139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclarkson View Post
That 11x9 is actually moving a lot more air than the 12x6, even on a 3-cell, so it's gonna draw more amps.

That said, I run the stock setup on a 4-cell all the time.
Hummm, ok, guess I should have thought about it that way (amperage). I was only thinking about the diameters and how fast they would spin, thinking that the smaller diameter would spin faster easier.

In looking at the volume of air moved per turn (volume of a cylinder), the 11x9 is 26% more than stock, and the 12x10 is 67% more than stock. The 12x5 is 17% less than stock, so maybe 4s with that one.

What is your stock motor? They were changed around the time I bought mine, going from a 950kv to a 1050kv. I was under the impression a 1050kv on 4s might be turning too fast.
HeliFlyer14 is offline Find More Posts by HeliFlyer14
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2016, 08:09 PM
mclarkson is online now
Find More Posts by mclarkson
Must not buy more planes!
mclarkson's Avatar
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Jul 2010
2,877 Posts
Mine says it is a 900kV. I bought it in June/July of 2013. (Motor reads: Detrum BM3715A - 900kV)
mclarkson is online now Find More Posts by mclarkson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2016, 12:16 AM
mclarkson is online now
Find More Posts by mclarkson
Must not buy more planes!
mclarkson's Avatar
USA, KS, Wichita
Joined Jul 2010
2,877 Posts
I feel so very, very stoopid.

I've been re-building my Gee Bee Sportster, which I crashed really hard last year. I got it all back together but, when I spun the motor up, the propeller was clearly a bit off-center. Dang, thought I. I've bent the shaft on the motor. Not surprising, considering the crash.

Get a new shaft. Disassemble the motor. Replace the shaft. (The old one looks fine, but ...) Put it all back together.

Run up the power and ... it's still wonky. Well, sez I, I guess I bent something in the motor or the mount. So I order a new motor.

Swap in the new motor, bolt everything up, spin up the propeller and ... it's still wonky.

What. The. Heck???

And then I think, No. Oh no. Not that.

Sure enough, I've bent the prop adapter. The motor was fine. The shaft was fine. It was a $4 aluminum part all along.

Which now I'll have to replace.

*hits self in head repeatedly with small hammer*

mclarkson is online now Find More Posts by mclarkson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2016, 12:36 AM
MaydayMayday is offline
Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Registered User
MaydayMayday's Avatar
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jul 2011
1,720 Posts
The stock one is SUPER SUPER soft, I bent my first one tightening it too much. Don't replace it with the stock one, order a better one and just the nut from the old one.
MaydayMayday is offline Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review Nitroplanes.com Dynam 4 Channel Dynam SU-26M 47'' Brushless Sportsplane Nitro_Nancy Sport Planes 1 Oct 06, 2012 11:18 AM
Question Dynam transmitter used on all dynam planes? or just the one it came with? Dominick Zola Electric Plane Talk 5 Apr 12, 2012 10:05 AM
Question DYNAM SU-26 and DYNAM PITTS/PEAKS ? pc_pilot Nitro Planes 3 Mar 29, 2012 09:32 PM
Wanted Super Sportster & Sportster Bipe Plans. Stephen Bennett Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 May 18, 2008 03:22 AM
need stuff for mini geebe lilpols charger prop rx and new flyer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 7 Sep 16, 2004 02:51 PM