HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 02, 2006, 09:38 PM
Registered User
modelpilotx's Avatar
Knoxville, TN
Joined Jun 2005
246 Posts
Discussion
power supply for balance pro hd

Hi all,
just wondering if i can use my hobbico accu cycle elite power supply
with this charger?
output: 11-14.5DC, w/110V 60Hz
switching AC supply

web:
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXEYD4&P=ML

thanks pat
modelpilotx is offline Find More Posts by modelpilotx
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 02, 2006, 10:05 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,554 Posts
I have read that the accu cycle elite power supply is not filtered very well and that it has caused problems with some chargers.


Charles
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2006, 11:24 PM
Registered User
Ijamsville, MD, U.S.A.
Joined Mar 2001
456 Posts
Recommended power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by modelpilotx
Hi all,
just wondering if i can use my hobbico accu cycle elite power supply
with this charger?
output: 11-14.5DC, w/110V 60Hz
switching AC supply

web:
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXEYD4&P=ML

thanks pat
Pat--BP and CP chargers work with a wide range of power supplies as well as lead acid batteries. We did modify the CP 4S so that it would filter the poorly filtered DC from the Hobbico supply. I do not see any spec for the current that suppply can deliver. However, if you are going to run BP at up to ten amps, the supply will have to be able to deliver up to 10 amps. The supply that we know for sure handles BP and most other chargers on the market is
http://www.fmadirect.com/detail.htm?...994&section=57
Fred Marks is offline Find More Posts by Fred Marks
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2006, 11:49 PM
Registered User
modelpilotx's Avatar
Knoxville, TN
Joined Jun 2005
246 Posts
thanks,
as per tower website:
AC Power Supply: 110V AC 60Hz input, 14.5V DC 2.5A output

i'll mostly charge my 2000 and 900 mAh
modelpilotx is offline Find More Posts by modelpilotx
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2006, 01:29 AM
Registered User
Slovakia
Joined Apr 2005
3,386 Posts
You have to count output voltage and stepup effectivity to know how many amps will go in. For example, 6Cells will count 25.2V, at 1A they will need 25.2W, stepup consumes approx 20 percent so 25.2/0.80= 31.5W is consumed - thus You need 31.5W /12V= 2.625A to charge 6s at 1A. (5.25A to charge 6s at 2A and so on.)
To charge up to 3s pack You need approximately same input current as desired charge current is.
coro is offline Find More Posts by coro
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2006, 09:17 PM
Registered User
modelpilotx's Avatar
Knoxville, TN
Joined Jun 2005
246 Posts
oh well,
sounds interresting and complicated for me but i'm new
to e-flight and determined to learn.

let's say i want to charge at 3 C:
for a 3S1P 2000 cellpro the input amp is?
for a 3S1P 910 cellpro the input amp is?

need more input how to calculate and understand that.

what are my options for powersupplies in the $50 range?
is the fma in stock?

thanks guys
modelpilotx is offline Find More Posts by modelpilotx
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2006, 09:33 PM
Registered User
Slovakia
Joined Apr 2005
3,386 Posts
For 3s pack charger consumes allmost same current as it gives to pack, because charged pack has 12.6V. My example was about 6s pack, there You need 2.5 times higher.
So, for 3s 2000 at 3c You need 6A (up to 8 A to be sure.)
For 3s 910 at 3C You need approx. 3A.
With good supplies it do not hurt when they are more powerfull than necesary, You can feed charger consuming 1A using 100A power supply without troubles.
Power sulpplies I saw at fma site looks exactly same as those psu we were using to power 12v equipment such as video guards, and they work well and are reliable, however, I did never try to use them with charger (yet?)
coro is offline Find More Posts by coro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Is anyone using the FMA Balance Pro HD for their HV helis? Vertical Electric Heli Talk 2 Mar 01, 2007 09:30 PM
Question 12v power supply for pro-peak prodigy (uk) mjh9335 Batteries and Chargers 7 Mar 25, 2004 04:54 PM
Question power supply for supernova pro peak RodUK Batteries and Chargers 4 Nov 14, 2003 03:03 PM
Computer Power supply for Foam Cutting? dwood99 Foamies (Kits) 5 Jul 18, 2001 01:22 PM
Computer power supply for charging E SOARER Power Systems 10 May 23, 2001 12:54 AM