Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 20, 2012, 12:20 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Nottingham
Joined Aug 2012
723 Posts
hard to see how those heatsinks are gonna be an improvment unless they connected it also to the rf chip inside.
motofox is offline Find More Posts by motofox
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 20, 2012, 04:12 PM
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Feb 2007
1,275 Posts
I think the 500mW unit should not have that heatsink that is only attached to the tin can and and not actually touching any components. Should have a fan instead
rcpilot23 is offline Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:36 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
922 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Summitdude View Post
Hobbywireless.

Will try it out soon.
Hurry up i will RMA my if your works because i bought mine from hobbywireless too 10 months ago
timtimtim is offline Find More Posts by timtimtim
Last edited by timtimtim; Nov 20, 2012 at 07:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:01 PM
DJO
Custom FPV Setups
DJO's Avatar
United States, CT, Stafford
Joined Oct 2011
3,530 Posts
Got my 1.3 GHz 200mw RMRC vTX/RX/patch antenna in the mail yesterday! Looking great so far, the vTX is much smaller than I thought. You can read more about it on my site and tune into The FPV PROJECT on my YouTube channel.

Should get decent range from this. I'm still on my stock DX5e for now but hopefully will be upgrading to a UHF in the near future.

Setup was pretty simple and the vTX operates all the way down to 9.9v from my testing so far. I've seen it transmitting on nearly 8v too! It's lightweight and looks solid. Heats up quickly during bench testing but with the proper airflow, that shouldn't be an issue in the skies!

https://sites.google.com/site/djopro.../thefpvproject
http://www.youtube.com/RCDJO







Dan
DJO is offline Find More Posts by DJO
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Home Run Derby & Aerial Shots
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:06 PM
Multi Rotor Maniac
Stunt Double's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Oct 2007
2,737 Posts
What sort of range are you hoping to get? Dont plan on going too far with a DX5 and 1.3 vtx with no autopilot failsafe!!!
Stunt Double is offline Find More Posts by Stunt Double
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Cruisy Quad Flight
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:24 PM
DJO
Custom FPV Setups
DJO's Avatar
United States, CT, Stafford
Joined Oct 2011
3,530 Posts
HA! LOL man I'm not stupid I'm looking for 1/2 mile range to start. I've flown FPV on 2.4 GHz 10mw and 5.8 GHz 600mw so far. Both were OK. But then my 72 MHz radio died and I needed to switch from 2.4 video to something else. 5.8 is OK but I'd like to try out 1.3 GHz

Wow you must be really dependent on your autopilot failsafe thingamabob LOL. You should trust your equipment onboard more than that if you won't fly very far at all without it.



Dan
DJO is offline Find More Posts by DJO
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Home Run Derby & Aerial Shots
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 08:10 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,223 Posts
His point is, your video range now will fairly easily exceed your 2.4Ghz RC range.
You're going to eat up 1/2 mile and then some with a wing like that in no time flat.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 20, 2012, 08:27 PM
DJO
Custom FPV Setups
DJO's Avatar
United States, CT, Stafford
Joined Oct 2011
3,530 Posts
Yeah and I've already flew out to about 1/2 mile on 5.8 GHz, 600mw. And yes it is nothing. But I want enough video range to make it there, and so that when I upgrade to a UHF I can have a mile or so of range too.



Dan
DJO is offline Find More Posts by DJO
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Home Run Derby & Aerial Shots
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 10:52 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,394 Posts
Dude you should be able to fly the distance with that 5.8ghz 600mw, all the way to past you RC radio distance on 2.4!
DoctorAudio is online now Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:15 AM
Multi Rotor Maniac
Stunt Double's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Oct 2007
2,737 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
His point is, your video range now will fairly easily exceed your 2.4Ghz RC range.
You're going to eat up 1/2 mile and then some with a wing like that in no time flat.

ian
Could not have said it better myself!!
Stunt Double is offline Find More Posts by Stunt Double
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Cruisy Quad Flight
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:16 AM
Registered User
Summitdude's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
492 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Summitdude View Post
Hobbywireless.

Will try it out soon.
My cable didnt fit so i will wait until the end of the week when my new cable comes so dont hold your breaths
Summitdude is offline Find More Posts by Summitdude
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:15 PM
DJO
Custom FPV Setups
DJO's Avatar
United States, CT, Stafford
Joined Oct 2011
3,530 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Dude you should be able to fly the distance with that 5.8ghz 600mw, all the way to past you RC radio distance on 2.4!
Umm yes and I have done it LOL. But I needed a better frequency for the area and I need an external RX to record from with my laptop and a splitter. My goggles on 5.8 couldn't record... Yes there is AV out but it really doesn't work well



Dan
DJO is offline Find More Posts by DJO
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Home Run Derby & Aerial Shots
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
922 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Summitdude View Post
My cable didnt fit so i will wait until the end of the week when my new cable comes so dont hold your breaths
which cable didnt fit?
timtimtim is offline Find More Posts by timtimtim
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:43 AM
Registered User
Summitdude's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
492 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timtimtim View Post
which cable didnt fit?
I have the cable in the link but the connector on the lawmate vtx is even smaller.
Ordered another cable with large plug that will fit the pigtail that comes with the vtx.

Another solution would be to solder the connector onto the cable i already got but i might need that cable
so dont want to mess with it.

http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...aps6h1vf13dlr1
Summitdude is offline Find More Posts by Summitdude
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 05:46 AM
Registered User
Summitdude's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
492 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timtimtim View Post
which cable didnt fit?
Got the cables and stuff but cant really test it properly since it raining here and will for like a week.

I hooked it up and it seems to work fine except the same issue that i have with other
brand VTXs that the audio level is too loud. I have a resistor to make it less loud.

But this may be a problem with the Gopro audio level could be too high.
Summitdude is offline Find More Posts by Summitdude
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Lawmate vs BOB Fox 700 Tx/rx combo which one has the 1160? iacei FPV Talk 24 Jul 22, 2010 08:49 AM
Discussion 1.2Ghz Tx Only: Where to buy a cheap one iacei FPV Talk 9 Jun 07, 2010 02:03 AM
Question esc all one, can i change to different tx/rx? Fossy313 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 4 Jan 30, 2010 04:07 AM
Discussion 1.2Ghz 800mw video TX/RX on Ebay for $2.98 Euro _Spud_ FPV Talk 1 May 23, 2008 12:31 PM
Are 1.2ghz Tx and Rx any good. JustFly Aerial Photography 3 Apr 22, 2005 11:46 AM