HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 01, 2011, 11:20 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,203 Posts
I'm sure that's as far as it goes. It spans the polyhedral break so it can't go much
further without popping through the skin at either end.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 01, 2011, 11:32 AM
Nakelp
nakelp86's Avatar
United States, NJ, Union
Joined Sep 2004
6,779 Posts
yep but this way there is not much meat left to do any good.
Hmm, I would still use flat carbon to the tip.
nakelp86 is offline Find More Posts by nakelp86
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: New (old) Disco gimbal
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 10:43 AM
Registered User
Mikey636's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Dec 2010
152 Posts
Maidened my SkyWalker today. Flew great. It's much much faster than my EasyStar. Flaps are nice addition.
Mikey636 is offline Find More Posts by Mikey636
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 11:46 AM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
411 Posts
Het Mikey
Do you have landing gear on SW?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 12:44 PM
Registered User
Mikey636's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Dec 2010
152 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
Het Mikey
Do you have landing gear on SW?
I bought landing gear from lowpricerc.com but never installed it. I reinforced the bottom of the plane with a few layers of packing tape.
Mikey636 is offline Find More Posts by Mikey636
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 04:50 PM
VaZ
TheFlyer_PT
VaZ's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Feb 2011
611 Posts
Hi,
I'm having some problems with installing FMA copilot CPD4 on my skywalker. I have set it up, but when I fly and put it on, it just starts on a climb... Can some post some pictures on a CPD4 setup on skywalker and the switches positions?

Thanks,
Vaz.
VaZ is offline Find More Posts by VaZ
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 05:24 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
1,165 Posts
How do I connect my 2 aileron servos ?

Sorry for a noob question, but the only plane I have owned is my easystar.

Do I need to use 2 channels on my radio for my aileron?
I have a Futaba 9z, and I need all my 9 channels

Is there some way of using only 1 channel for left\right aileron ?
liteglow is offline Find More Posts by liteglow
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 05:36 PM
Nakelp
nakelp86's Avatar
United States, NJ, Union
Joined Sep 2004
6,779 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
How do I connect my 2 aileron servos ?

Sorry for a noob question, but the only plane I have owned is my easystar.

Do I need to use 2 channels on my radio for my aileron?
I have a Futaba 9z, and I need all my 9 channels

Is there some way of using only 1 channel for left\right aileron ?
Y harness
nakelp86 is offline Find More Posts by nakelp86
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: New (old) Disco gimbal
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 06:30 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
1,165 Posts
will not a Y harness make both servo travel the same way ? (like flaps)
I guess there is a Y-harness that will reverse the other servo....

btw, before I ever had a flight with my SW, the elevator servo is dead
So now I have both rudder and elevator servo messed up on the tale of my SW, and no servo wires to plug in :\

I will never manage to cup open the plane again, so the only way is to run the servo wires outside the body any other suggestion ?
liteglow is offline Find More Posts by liteglow
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 06:45 PM
Un-Registered User
Mesa, AZ
Joined Aug 2007
46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
will not a Y harness make both servo travel the same way ? (like flaps)
I guess there is a Y-harness that will reverse the other servo....
The servo in the other wing is flipped compared to the other so it will be going in the other direction. No special Y harness is needed, just your standard one.
ryscar is offline Find More Posts by ryscar
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 07:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2009
717 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
btw, before I ever had a flight with my SW, the elevator servo is dead
So now I have both rudder and elevator servo messed up on the tale of my SW, and no servo wires to plug in :\

I will never manage to cup open the plane again, so the only way is to run the servo wires outside the body any other suggestion ?
Use the servo extensions, and let em end where you can access the connector. So you can leave only that part of the cable outside.
npole is offline Find More Posts by npole
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 07:53 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Marin County
Joined Apr 2009
805 Posts
I got my new Skywalker a few days ago and began my build today. I made it surprisingly far, given a half day of work. I was surprised by the quality of some of the parts. When it comes to Chinese airplanes, I automatically expect that I will have to replace most (or all) of the hardware. For the SW, I chose to keep the push-rods and clevises as well as the motor mount.

I used all HS82MG servos and changed out everything for Futaba twisted servo wire. I made an effort to wire this model as cleanly as possible. I cannot stand the birds nest that is so common in FPV planes. Below are some photos - I couldn't get the whole plane in the frame due to the size of the room.

Hopefully there are more photos to come tomorrow. I've already added some FPV equipment, but I'm taking it slowly to avoid wiring mistakes.

-TL
wtl0715 is offline Find More Posts by wtl0715
Last edited by wtl0715; Apr 03, 2011 at 12:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 08:14 PM
Registered User
MO, USA
Joined Jun 2010
686 Posts
I'd like to get an order placed from BEVrc for my SW FPV bird. Short of reading all 400 pages prior to ordering, can someone give me advice on which goodies I should add to my BEVrc order? Carbon rods, etc? Looking for basic build upgrade "requirements". I'm sending this quickly from my break at work, as I don't have time to read the whole thread right now.
motoguy1 is offline Find More Posts by motoguy1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2011, 02:10 AM
VaZ
TheFlyer_PT
VaZ's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Feb 2011
611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaZ View Post
Hi,
I'm having some problems with installing FMA copilot CPD4 on my skywalker. I have set it up, but when I fly and put it on, it just starts on a climb... Can some post some pictures on a CPD4 setup on skywalker and the switches positions?

Thanks,
Vaz.
Anyone?
VaZ is offline Find More Posts by VaZ
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2011, 03:19 AM
Houba ! Houba !!
rcmonster99's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Sep 2003
5,993 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtl0715 View Post
I got my new Skywalker a few days ago and began my build today. I made it surprisingly far, given a half day of work. I was surprised by the quality of some of the parts. When it comes to Chinese airplanes, I automatically expect that I will have to replace most (or all) of the hardware. For the SW, I chose to keep the push-rods and clevises as well as the motor mount.

I used all HS82MG servos and changed out everything for Futaba twisted servo wire. I made an effort to wire this model as cleanly as possible. I cannot stand the birds nest that is so common in FPV planes. Below are some photos - I couldn't get the whole plane in the frame due to the size of the room.

Hopefully there are more photos to come tomorrow. I've already added some FPV equipment, but I'm taking it slowly to avoid wiring mistakes.

-TL
I see the ESC is under the wing.
1) the toroid might foul against the wing base
2) it has been acknowledged that this is not the best place for the ESC as it will overheat, either install cooling vents or install the ESC outside, for example, right under the motor
rcmonster99 is offline Find More Posts by rcmonster99
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 23 Aug 08, 2010 06:27 AM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM