New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 09, 2015, 04:56 AM
Find More Posts by genesisrc
Joined Dec 2014
4 Posts
Help!
Keep blowing ESC's?

Hi guys,

hoping you might be able help? I recently bought a Himoto Genesis RTR and I seem to be going through ESC's lately? Im new to RC boats but have other RC's. If theres anything Im missing, please let me know.

Everything was going fine until I bought a new LiPo as I wanted to extend the running time (10 minutes was way too short for me). Basically - The initial set up was working fine for months and the only LiPo that I was using was a Turnigy (Nano-tech) 4s / 4500mAh / 35-70C

Boat was running standard internals:
125A ESC
2075Kv motor (not sure of brand) Water cooled
6Kg Himoto Servo
Himoto Rx and Tx

In the hope of extending my running time, I purchased a Zippy 4s / 30-40C "8000 mAh" (High discharge LiPo) and this is where the issues began. I ran it for the first time fine. New Batt lasted about 20 - 25 min. Brought it in after 10 Min to cool down and check temperatures, then sent it back out for the remaining 10 / 15min. Battery and ESC's get warm to touch but not burning hot.

Once Batt cut off, placed the original Turnigy back in and it ran for about 3 min then died. (Had to go for a swim)

Servo works, but no throttle. Again, not burning hot?

Brought it home and tested both the ESC and motor with another RC and narrowed it down to the ESC. Motor would throttle with a different ESC but boat ESC would not power any other motor.

Went out and bought a Swordfish Pro - 120 A - S BEC - as the guy at the hobby shop seemed to think the original, even though mentioned 125A, would be luckily to be a 60A (because it was a cheaper ESC) and mentioned that the Swordfish was a guaranteed 120A with 150A peak.

I found somewhere that the 2075kv motor would be about 100A so presumed that 120A was to be sufficient? not sure if this is correct.