HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:23 PM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Pretoria
Joined Feb 2011
665 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyj View Post
Nothing fancy, just 3.02.0.

BTW, I was able to shoot a single 1080 60fps video today for 50 minutes straight! The camera still had battery left and it was hot but still not nearly as hot as my old camera.

Was wifi on or off?
Andre6553 is offline Find More Posts by Andre6553
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:09 PM
FPV ROO
speedstep's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
78 Posts
I thought I share this one.
90% of the footage is hero 3 black
10% is hero 2
FPV Rig was my TBS Disco

Almost all the aerial footage is 1080 60fps and jello is pretty much not existing, just in a couple of shoots with the hero 2
The slow-motion is all 960 or 720 with 100 or 120fps

Enjoy:

Quad n' Kite FPV ROO Kitesurfing (3 min 4 sec)
speedstep is offline Find More Posts by speedstep
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:27 PM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
SDSURFnGLIDE's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,308 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedstep View Post
I thought I share this one.
90% of the footage is hero 3 black
10% is hero 2
FPV Rig was my TBS Disco

Almost all the aerial footage is 1080 60fps and jello is pretty much not existing, just in a couple of shoots with the hero 2
The slow-motion is all 960 or 720 with 100 or 120fps

Enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxQzin3wUhI

Dude....that was really cool...great job.
SDSURFnGLIDE is offline Find More Posts by SDSURFnGLIDE
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:28 PM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,125 Posts
Love that video
bakchos is offline Find More Posts by bakchos
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:44 PM
Don't disturb the pilot !!!
saucisse's Avatar
Canada, QC, Quebec
Joined Jun 2008
2,183 Posts
speedstep: that was awesome!
saucisse is offline Find More Posts by saucisse
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:52 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
12,139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDSURFnGLIDE View Post
Dude....that was really cool...great job.
+ 1
carguy1994ca is offline Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: FPV week end with friends
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:54 PM
Registered User
Deadstick 8409's Avatar
Joined May 2010
956 Posts
Speed, that was some of the best FPV footage I have seen. Nice job.
Deadstick 8409 is offline Find More Posts by Deadstick 8409
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
1 Posts
After repeating the frustrations others had formatting a 64 GB card on a PC, I had success on a Mac. The trick was to format the card with it installed in the GoPro Hero3, connected to the Mac by a mini USB cable. DiskUtil recognizes the full ~64GB space on the SD card. When you partition, be sure to use the Master Boot Record (not GUID option) with the exFat format. We successfully made recordings that were visible on the Mac.

The bad news is that our Windoze XP system doesn't recognize the GoPro. It isn't clear to me whether the bug is in Windoze XP or the firmware or the GoPro Hero 3.

I'm helping a friend. Now that I've done my good deed for the day, I'm going to delete my account.
MacGuy22 is offline Find More Posts by MacGuy22
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:48 PM
Registered User
AlanGold's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
784 Posts
Very impressive.
AlanGold is offline Find More Posts by AlanGold
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:58 PM
Creator of the 1st 6S HT-Flip!
flohio117's Avatar
United States, TN, Clarksville
Joined Dec 2011
3,440 Posts
@speedstep what setting on your hero 3 were you shooting with?
flohio117 is offline Find More Posts by flohio117
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 10:10 PM
FPV ROO
speedstep's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
78 Posts
Thank you all for the kind comments, means a lot to me! I appreciate it!


Quote:
Originally Posted by flohio117 View Post
@speedstep what setting on your hero 3 were you shooting with?
The aerial footage was all taken 1080 60fps (w/o pro tune)
the slowmo was 720 120fps or 960fps 100fps (w/o pro tune)

With protune the cam always frooze after 8 seconds or a bit later, even though I got the "go pro approved" 32gb sandisk
I got now the new firmware but haven't checked if it works now.
speedstep is offline Find More Posts by speedstep
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 10:35 PM
Creator of the 1st 6S HT-Flip!
flohio117's Avatar
United States, TN, Clarksville
Joined Dec 2011
3,440 Posts
Thanks can you change the field of view to medium on 720p?
flohio117 is offline Find More Posts by flohio117
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:07 PM
FPV ROO
speedstep's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
78 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flohio117 View Post
Thanks can you change the field of view to medium on 720p?
No but I always use 1080 medium 60fps
You just need well balanced motors, props and more dampening.
I use a silicon matt from vibrationmount.com and foam pads is pricey does a good job'
speedstep is offline Find More Posts by speedstep
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:25 PM
Registered User
AlanGold's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
784 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedstep View Post
No but I always use 1080 medium 60fps
You just need well balanced motors, props and more dampening.
I use a silicon matt from vibrationmount.com and foam pads is pricey does a good job'
If you ever can see the way to posting pictures that show how you dampen vibration and the specific products used I'll be very interested. (Vibrationmount.com has a lot of links to numerous companies and products)

I am new to this and have only been using a small p&s on test videos with my Discovery. I have tried a few different approaches (including a $15 sticky gel material) and still get jello when the camera is mounted on the front.

My GoPro 3 Black will be here soon so maybe it will work better than my p&s or maybe I'll need to work more on the dampening.

Do you use any stabilization processing software such as Mercalli 2?
AlanGold is offline Find More Posts by AlanGold
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:06 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2012
752 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanGold View Post
If you ever can see the way to posting pictures that show how you dampen vibration and the specific products used I'll be very interested. (Vibrationmount.com has a lot of links to numerous companies and products)

I am new to this and have only been using a small p&s on test videos with my Discovery. I have tried a few different approaches (including a $15 sticky gel material) and still get jello when the camera is mounted on the front.

My GoPro 3 Black will be here soon so maybe it will work better than my p&s or maybe I'll need to work more on the dampening.

Do you use any stabilization processing software such as Mercalli 2?
Alan,

I finally got rid of all signs of jello on my TBS with the hero 3 blk @1080p 60fps. I am flying some FPV over the ocean tomorrow and can post some videos. I will be trying some of the other settings as well.

I have a layer of sorbothane, g10 plate, soft ear plugs then gopro with a loose rubber band. I also threw a polarizing filter under the lens cover, which seems to help.
jcmonty is offline Find More Posts by jcmonty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold *SOLD* NIB GoPro HD Hero 2 Motorsports Edition plus NIB GoPro Wifi Combo Kit. jbj620 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 11, 2012 11:54 AM
Discussion FPV using GOPRO HD Hero 2 + bacpac WIFI Link69 Multirotor Talk 4 Feb 26, 2012 07:24 PM
Build Log HD FunJet v2 (mini) build log with GoPro HERO HD jbpilot FPV Talk 14 Oct 31, 2010 09:36 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 09:40 AM