Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 04, 2010, 03:31 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,761 Posts
Hello, Does the FrSky modules ( JR or Futaba ) Accept Both Positive and negative shift PPM Pulses ?
sebbe is online now Find More Posts by sebbe
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 04, 2010, 05:35 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,281 Posts
This is a PPM stream property, does not affect the RF transmiting chain.
Also, the two systems are mutualy exclusive, I don't know any system using a module type and the others's pulse type.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2010, 06:43 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebbe View Post
Hello, Does the FrSky modules ( JR or Futaba ) Accept Both Positive and negative shift PPM Pulses ?
Quote:
The Frsky module is so tolerant it will work with almost any PPM set. Polarity, level & number of channels is not critical, just 3 wires and go fly!
Removing the crystal & aerial is the easiest way to disable the 35mhz bit.
Cheers
Phil
http://www.giantcod.co.uk/forum/view...t=frsky#p12633
RobertWing is offline Find More Posts by RobertWing
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2010, 06:54 AM
Registered User
JMP_blackfoot's Avatar
United States, OH, Galena
Joined Jul 2003
1,658 Posts
They are announcing a "V8 DIY module" for this month:
http://www.frsky-rc.com/News_View.asp?NewsID=33
That sounds interesting
JMP_blackfoot is offline Find More Posts by JMP_blackfoot
Last edited by JMP_blackfoot; Mar 04, 2010 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2010, 07:03 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,761 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertWing View Post
OK, so the FrySky will accept both positive and negative PPM pilses, that sounds good
sebbe is online now Find More Posts by sebbe
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2010, 07:17 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,761 Posts
BY the way, almost forgot

Will the FrSky run propperly on 6 nimh batteries ? (7,2 volts nominell)

Update: Ive found the specs:

Transmitter module specifications:
Operating Voltage Range: 6.0V-13.0V
Operating Current: 50mA
Output Power: 60mW
Resolution: 10bit
Dimensions: 63.9X48.5X36.5mm

------------------
sebbe is online now Find More Posts by sebbe
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2010, 08:26 PM
Balsa addiction since age 3
ScottSails's Avatar
Upstate NY
Joined May 2005
1,222 Posts
Looks like Himodel has them now at really good prices...

http://www.himodel.com/sort.php?sub2=GC
ScottSails is online now Find More Posts by ScottSails
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2010, 09:31 PM
Martin - AKA mr.sneezy
PLMS's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined May 2004
1,669 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottSails View Post
Looks like Himodel has them now at really good prices...

http://www.himodel.com/sort.php?sub2=GC
That's not bad at all Scott. I like the price of the 4CH especially.

I might have to buy the Futaba V8FT combo set myself, currently I only have the pre-production Two-Way system, which is needed on the bench.
Martin
PLMS is offline Find More Posts by PLMS
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 05, 2010, 01:29 AM
Stress Be Gone
GBR2's Avatar
Snohomish, WA
Joined May 2000
3,375 Posts
That is kind of amazing at $52 for a module and 8 channel Rx. I bought a set recently for $75 from Aero-Nuts. Wish I had known about HiModel. Will have to get some more receivers.
GBR2 is offline Find More Posts by GBR2
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2010, 06:26 PM
Registered User
wallaguest1's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
2,117 Posts
as far as i read,
this system got a feature wich returns a "slow reponse" servo movement, when the radio signal is low, in order to alert the owner of the range limitations

any one can confirm this ?

i find a quite nice feature,
i wonder if this feature is easy to "feel"

maybe some one could do test in home just removing Tx antena, and RX aerials. Using the "range check" feature tu reduce power of radio may help too to avoid run 200 meters for this test.

"4.5 Safety range indicator
When the model controlled by V8 2.4GHz radio control system is close to the maximum distance of control,
the response of the model will slow down. It is the safety feature designed by FrSky. It means, the user should fly
the model closer to the transmitter as soon, as the reactions are getting slower."
wallaguest1 is offline Find More Posts by wallaguest1
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2010, 01:50 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,281 Posts
DON'T remove antenna of ANY transmitter !
If you want to do simple and safe such test, operate it from inside a microwave owen. The range will be reduced dramatical to some meters.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 07:55 PM
Registered User
wallaguest1's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
2,117 Posts
any one know how many packets the receiver must lost before switch from one antena to the other one ?

dadee wrote a nice tuto for OSD's Renatoa
http://www.rcexplorer.se/page14/lostp/lostp.html#

but is usefull just with Futaba FASST Rx's.

if the FrSky switch to the other antena after 4000 packets losts or so, then can'T be very usefull to show the signal strength.

sooo any one know how many packets the receiver must lost before switch from one antena to the other one ? maybe 1 lost = 1 switch ?
wallaguest1 is offline Find More Posts by wallaguest1
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 08:09 PM
Martin - AKA mr.sneezy
PLMS's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined May 2004
1,669 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chase Wu View Post
Based on our exact and practical test, that's exactly 20dB drop(by program's set), and the 1/10 practical test range is also be tested by us.

I mean the range(but not the power) of 2-way system will be a bit more short compare with V8 series products.

Meantime, all the specification(including the power) of our PRE-production samples as the same as regular products.

In order to walk shorter range under range check, maybe it should be 30dB drop

Best regards
Chase Wu
We tested a late model Spektrum DSM JR model here today for range check power, with firmware V2.2. It has a measured range check drop of 30dB like my V1.9.
Since that works well for DSM2 users, it lends weight to the change in the FrSky modules.
PLMS is offline Find More Posts by PLMS
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 08:13 PM
Martin - AKA mr.sneezy
PLMS's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined May 2004
1,669 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLMS View Post
Speaking of firmware, wouldn't it be fantastic if FrSky could make their receivers 'firmware upgradable' like new Hitec gear is supposed to be. Mate, it would sure get lots of attention then, and I'd be buying lots more.
It seems the pressure may be on, too do the firmware upgradable version of FrSky products.
FlyDream (dare I mention the enemy :-) has said they have such a feature now.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1207547
PLMS is offline Find More Posts by PLMS
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2010, 05:14 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,761 Posts
Hello, will the JR FrSky module work in a Turnigy 9X/FlySKy/EURGLE Radio ? They are all the same.


Have anyone tried that .
sebbe is online now Find More Posts by sebbe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 06:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 12:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 07:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 01:25 AM