HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 30, 2012, 09:02 PM
Joined Jan 2012
29 Posts
Build Log
larger scale F-22 (thunderbird)

I know there are no actual F-22 thunderbirds out there but the paint job was just irresistible. Well this is my first attempt at a build log and this is my F-22 flown of tailerons only.

My goals for this build were very high i had an engine that was for a front prop plane and i wanted to put it on a pusher. Due to my lack of flying experience of only (4 months) i chose to go with a tried and true design the F-22.
I wanted this plane to:

-take off on its belly
-attempt knife edge (with a hidden rudder)
-have good vertical climb
-and the ability to perform roles, loops and inverted flight

Well what i got was a very heavy but capable plane, the rudder had to be abandoned due to its obstruction of air flow and it causing the plane to be very tail heavy. In addition i have yet to get the plane to belly take off as well the nose just digs into the ground.

but as for everything els it went very very well.

My big question now pertains to thrust angle, I have an elevated mounting arrangement to help with prop clearance and currently the prop is pointing horizontally in line with the wing, my question is should i give the prop some down thrust and how much???
BigBrother11 is offline Find More Posts by BigBrother11
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 31, 2012, 12:21 AM
Fremont, CA
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jan 2009
1,737 Posts
Very nice build!
I think that if you put some smooth tape on the belly and curled up the bottom of the intakes it might do better off the ground. A slight downthrust might help the takeoff too, but I don't know how much.
djacob7 is offline Find More Posts by djacob7
Old Nov 01, 2012, 10:14 PM
Joined Jan 2012
29 Posts