SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 14, 2001, 12:29 AM
Canton, Ga. USA
Joined Apr 2001
3 Posts
Ultra Sport 40 conversion to electric

I've been flying this plane a while with a IC Fox 50. I'm new to electrics. Any Suggestions on an Electric motor/battery for conversion. Anyone done this?
JohnnyT is offline Find More Posts by JohnnyT
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2001, 08:59 AM
Lipoly Killer
Gulfport/Biloxi Biloxi Reg, Mississippi, United States
Joined Dec 2000
1,515 Posts
Johnny, there's a number of motors available that would be suitable. I imagine with the Fox 50 that you are wanting good performance in your electic conversion. I have experience with two good combos-Astro 40G and the MaxCim 13Y with 24 and 20 cells, respectively.If I had to make a choice, I'd go with the MaxCim, 3/1 ratio(or higher), 20 Panasonic 2000 Nimh Cells and an APC 14/10E prop. Yes, it's expensive, however, it has the capability to be used in a number of applications. I would also think seriously about getting the MaxCim and using the Astro gearbox for the MaxCim.You can't change ratios at the field, however, the Astro is pretty much bulletproof.
Frank Hurd is offline Find More Posts by Frank Hurd
Old Apr 14, 2001, 03:32 PM
Our Daddy and Heli Junkie
In Heli Wonderland
Joined Aug 1999
22,803 Posts
Johnny, welcome to the Zone

A good place to start with any conversion if you are new is to post the specs for the plane. Some of us may know them, most won't.

You will want at least 50 watts a pound for good power. That will be the AUW including batteries.

For lots of basic information, go to the FAQ link above. It will explain watts-amps-gearing-chargers and such.

Good Luck and lets see the specs!
Fred Bronk is offline Find More Posts by Fred Bronk
Old Apr 14, 2001, 03:36 PM
In Heli Wonderland
Joined Aug 1999
22,803 Posts
Oh, and my idea for the setup, if it is an 40 sized IC plane.