New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 06, 2015, 10:15 PM
Mattlanuze is offline
Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Registered User
Joined Jan 2015
15 Posts
Help!
Naze32 + Flysky FS-TH9X + FS-R9B receiver

Hi, i have recently built a custom quad but have hit a brick wall with setting it up and would appreciate any help!
I have installed the configurator and can power the motors no problem via usb link. I think i have succesfully binded the th9x to the r9b rx but the receiver no longer flashes and nothing works through the transmitter. The naze board just has a solid blue led. Is there a way to get this setup working? Would i have to unbind then bind again? if so does anyone know how? i have hunted through google for hours and still am stumped.
Thanks in advance
Matt
Mattlanuze is offline Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 10, 2015, 01:45 PM
Umair.f is offline
Find More Posts by Umair.f
Registered User
Saudi Arabia, Eastern Province, Dammam
Joined Aug 2014
20 Posts
Flite Test | Naze 32 Board Setup (46 min 40 sec)


i hope this video helps you
and i would like to see some pictures of your quad
thanks
Umair.f is offline Find More Posts by Umair.f
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2015, 09:59 PM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Registered User
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
2,084 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattlanuze View Post
Hi, i have recently built a custom quad but have hit a brick wall with setting it up and would appreciate any help!
I have installed the configurator and can power the motors no problem via usb link. I think i have succesfully binded the th9x to the r9b rx but the receiver no longer flashes and nothing works through the transmitter. The naze board just has a solid blue led. Is there a way to get this setup working? Would i have to unbind then bind again? if so does anyone know how? i have hunted through google for hours and still am stumped.
Thanks in advance
Matt
Start over.
Disconnect the RX from the NAZE.
Put the bind plug on either the Bind or Battery port.
Plug an ESC into the Receiver and plug in a battery.
The RX LED should be flashing.
Push and hold the Bind button on the TX module.
Turn the TX on.
The LED on the RX will stop flashing and stay on.
Turn off the TX, unplug the battery from the ESC.
REMOVE THE BIND PLUG.
Turn the TX on.
Plug the battery into the ESC.
The RX LED should be ON.

If you have a servo laying around, use it to test channels 1 thru 5. if 5 does not work, go into the setup menu>Aux-Cha and set Channel 5 to GEAR. Press Enter, press EXIT, press EXIT to get back to the main screen. Flip the Gear Switch (Right shoulder FRONT) and the servo should move...

When you connect the RX up to the flight controller, make sure you have the servo leads connected with the correct polarity...
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2015, 06:08 PM
Mattlanuze is offline
Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Registered User
Joined Jan 2015
15 Posts
I have done as you said and all works well with esc's plugged into the rx. However, with esc's into naze board and wire harness going to rx, nothing at all - the rx does not even light up. I have connected the first header (ground, 5v, signal) to ch1 and the rest in order as they are just signal wires. All motors work in the cleanflight configurator. if you need photos i can provide. please help, i am at my wits end!!!
Mattlanuze is offline Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Last edited by Mattlanuze; Feb 13, 2015 at 06:10 PM. Reason: add info
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2015, 08:41 PM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Registered User
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
2,084 Posts
Pictures would be a great help...
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2015, 11:11 PM
dajones89 is offline
Find More Posts by dajones89
Registered User
Joined Dec 2014
56 Posts
Is the naze32 arming? Check for the green light. If its not check the endpoints. Mid point on all sticks should be 1500, check this on the cleanflight software
dajones89 is offline Find More Posts by dajones89
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2015, 05:17 AM
Mattlanuze is offline
Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Registered User
Joined Jan 2015
15 Posts
pics as requested
Mattlanuze is offline Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2015, 05:58 AM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Registered User
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
2,084 Posts
I'm sorry Dude, but I'm lost. The NAZE uses an "odd" wiring scheme and from your pictures I really can't tell what is what...

About the only thing I can say is that either you do not have power connected properly, or the board is dead.

What happens if you connect the board to your computer with a USB cable?
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2015, 07:04 AM
Mattlanuze is offline
Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Registered User
Joined Jan 2015
15 Posts
USB cable connection fine
Mattlanuze is offline Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2015, 07:46 AM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Registered User
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
2,084 Posts
OK.

If the USB connection powers the board, and if an ESC will power up the receiver, then I believe we have something hooked up backwards.

Here is what I would do..

Disconnect every thing from the flight controller.
Take the props off of the motors....
Connect ONE ESC to your receiver on channel 3 and plug in the battery.
If the Receiver powers up, unplug the battery and connect that ESC to the flight controller and then plug the battery in. The board should power up....

If that works, leave the first ESC connected to the board and verify that the remaining ESCs will power up the receiver... The idea is to get all four ESCs connected to the board and have the board power up when you plug in the battery.

Once we get that working we will look at the receiver side....
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2015, 09:20 PM
dajones89 is offline
Find More Posts by dajones89
Registered User
Joined Dec 2014
56 Posts
Do you have a multimeter to do a continuaty check? Make sure signal is signal, power is power etc. Can't really tell as from the pics I can't see the esc or the wire colours inside the wrap.
dajones89 is offline Find More Posts by dajones89
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2015, 09:40 AM
Mattlanuze is offline
Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Registered User
Joined Jan 2015
15 Posts
Success, finally tracked the problem to a faulty naze board, replaced with full naze32. This in turn has raised another problem - Engaging motors through the cleanflight gui works but with reciever the motors are staggered (see pic) also the pitch slider does not move with anything and i cant seem to alter end point for anything
Mattlanuze is offline Find More Posts by Mattlanuze
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2015, 03:34 PM
iBisus is offline
Find More Posts by iBisus
Registered User
Joined Apr 2015
1 Posts
Hi,

I followed the instructions of Oldgazer but at the 7 step my RX didn't stop flashingand, I don't know wh.
I've searched on the internet, but I didn't found how to bind my transmitter (FlySky TH9X) with my receiver (FlySky R9B).

Can you help me?
iBisus is offline Find More Posts by iBisus
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2015, 05:09 PM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Registered User
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
2,084 Posts
Plug your ESC into Throttle (Channel 3)
Plug the bind plug into the Bind port.
Plug in a battery.
RX LED will blink.
PUSH AND HOLD BIND BUTTON ON THE RADIO.
Turn the radio ON.
RX LED should stay on solid...

If not, power off the TX, unplug the battery.
Put the bind plug on the BATT port.
Plug in the battery.
RX LED blinks.
Press and hold bind button on the TX.
Turn TX on.
RX LED stays on.

If this does not work, either the TX or the RX are faulty...

If you have another Fly Sky receiver try to bind it to the radio...
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2015, 11:45 AM
Zeroeffect is offline
Find More Posts by Zeroeffect
Registered User
Joined Feb 2015
50 Posts
I have the same setup but I can't find my ROLL. Everything else is working in good order.
Zeroeffect is offline Find More Posts by Zeroeffect
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Flysky FS-TH9X W/Spektrum + Receivers Firefox675 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Nov 16, 2014 09:47 AM
Sold FlySky FS-TH9X (Used) Blue B/Light and 8ch Receiver--Free Shipping wks01954 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Sep 05, 2014 02:22 PM
Sold FlySky FS-TH9X Radio with 8-Channel Receiver ElvisLives Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Apr 19, 2014 05:38 PM
Sold Flysky FS-TH9X w/Receiver $50 shipped CONUS darowden Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Mar 26, 2014 12:24 PM
Question FlySky FS-TH9X receiver deltapapa Radios 3 Mar 09, 2014 09:36 PM