HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 22, 2005, 11:51 AM
The Netherlands
Joined Apr 2004
593 Posts
Discussion
Ben Buckle Falcon

Greetings all,

I have been hankering to build a falcon for many years and have finally ordered a set of plans from Colin Buckle. I have had these delivered to a UK address where I can pick them up during a visit in Nov.

My intention is to power it with an Axi 4130/16, looking at 16 Nimh 3300's turning a 15x8 inch prop to start with.

Until I can get my hands on the plans, I have no idea of the wing area to guesstimate the wing loading and power requirements. I phoned Colin and he indicated that the AUW with an OS 60 was somewhere in the region of 10 lbs, but couldn't tell me the wing area.

If any of you gentlemen or ladies out there have built the Falcon, I would appreciate any info (especially if you have dropped in an electric motor), with regards to AUW, bare airframe weight, build problems, etc.

Thanks

Tim
Tim Trick is offline Find More Posts by Tim Trick
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 22, 2005, 05:00 PM
Joined Mar 2004
247 Posts
cant help apart from i rebuilt an ohlsson sideport sparky for a chap last year and he is building a falcon for it. if you could find out how much power it puts out you could possibly work out an equivalent power for your electric.
bolmas is offline Find More Posts by bolmas
Old Oct 15, 2005, 06:30 PM
Voices through wires? Ha!
Joined Feb 2003
1,659 Posts
That would be the "old" OS60, open rocker version, which was sweating hard to put out 1/2 HP. Take heart from Peter Miller's comment that "FS-60s are the most common power unit for KK Falcons, a large 8ft span vintage model which tends to be heavier than average". A 12x6 flew them beautifully; such a prop absorbs about 500W at 9K, and the resulting pitch speed of about 55 mph would be more than enough for a Falcon loaded at a "high" figure of 20ozs/sq.ft. The Falcon sports 1210 sq.in. wing area.