HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 19, 2012, 09:55 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
584 Posts
Discussion
Regulator between 2s LiPo Rx and 6.0V servo??

Hi folks, I want to run a Hitec 5646 waterproof servo and a 5086 as well on the same Rx at the same time - but I want to take advantage of the 5646's high voltage capability.

So the Rx will be powered directly by 2s LiPo, and the 5646 will have full power, but:

Can I run a regulator between the Rx and the 5086 on the power leads, leaving the signal wire direct? This way the 5086 sees only 6V as it was designed to do..

Please let me know if this will work!

Thanks,

- Mike
northernmike is offline Find More Posts by northernmike
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 21, 2012, 01:36 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,476 Posts
Use LiFePo4 instead and regulator no more needed.
This is the real solution.
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 06:39 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,650 Posts
YES. Done often in heli setups where tail servo can only take 4.8v. Here's the one we've used before.
http://helidirect.com/align-51v-two-...tor-p-7099.hdx

You can see in the picture how the system is powered by 7.4 2s lipo but the one rudder/tail servo is powered by the step down regulator.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 06:44 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Use LiFePo4 instead and regulator no more needed. This is the real solution.
Don't see how using a LifePo4 instead of the regulator will provide the 2 different voltages the O.P is looking for.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 07:23 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,476 Posts
not two voltages, everything on 6.6V of 2s LiFePo4 pack.
Any servo rated for 5 NiMh works well at 6.6V.
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 07:25 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,650 Posts
Yes I know, but what about the other servo that works on 7.4V and he wants to use a 2s for it?

Thats what he's looking for from what I read.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 07:59 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,476 Posts
He wants or he needs to be run at 7.4V ? Not enough torque at 6.6V ?
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 08:13 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
7,441 Posts
A regulated servo will work-
The ALIGN setup is specifically for cases where a low voltage for servo is needed
With the exception of helis where the gyro/servo combo is voltage critical - there really isn't any need for these setups -that I know of
The HV servos work quite well at 6.3 volts and most modern digitals also work well at this voltage - That is why the Life cells were mentioned
I use A123 for rx packs but for years some JR guys have used 2 cell LiPo packs directly -no regs- but it is possible to overload em!
Tiny servos such as used with the 6400 series Spektrum Bind n Fly rx- use 3.5 v
If at all possible -just don't mix voltages or use regs when other choices are available. Just asking for trouble
richard hanson is offline Find More Posts by richard hanson
Last edited by richard hanson; Jun 21, 2012 at 08:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 09:14 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,650 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
He wants or he needs to be run at 7.4V ? Not enough torque at 6.6V ?
LOL that I don't know, I was just going by what he posted. I am sure by now he's got what he's looking for so no need for me to stick around here.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 09:43 AM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,990 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
He wants or he needs to be run at 7.4V ? Not enough torque at 6.6V ?
Torque and/or speed. That's what I assume. The specs on the servo show distinctly higher speed and torque at 7.4.
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 06:32 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
584 Posts
THANK YOU GUYS!

Yes, I want to run full voltage to the 5646 for max speed and power to pull in a large set of sails.

The top skipper at our pond is running a 7940TH on his sails and a 7235 for rudder, WAY out of my budget... though probably IP67 as my set-up.

I intend to use some very light 350mAh 65C cells so power via voltage is a huge plus, less current / motion saves me lots of weight.

Thank you thank you! Now I can start soldering!

northernmike is offline Find More Posts by northernmike
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold JR 9503 TX Battery, Charger and 6.0v 2500mah RX battery NEW!! HD Hucker Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Jun 01, 2012 12:21 AM
For Sale Hobbico HydriMax NiMH 5C 6.0V 4200mAh RX Batteries 5jays Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Mar 21, 2012 01:18 AM
Wanted 6.0v rx pack mikeochs Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Sep 05, 2011 04:45 PM
Help! Upgrade NiCad Rx bat to Lipo but 7.4v instead of 4.8 or 6.0v…how??? WBFAir Batteries and Chargers 2 Jun 01, 2009 10:08 AM