New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 31, 2014, 12:34 PM
Find More Posts by BradMick
Joined Sep 2007
22 Posts
Discussion
Homebuilt Bf109F

Howdy!

So I got myself some foam cutting tools and foam for Christmas and immediately set out to put them to use. Right now i'm still in the planning phase for my first build. I got the inspiration for the design and build process from:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2039532

Dreamcatchers explanation of his build process is pretty awesome and I figure about the best way to tackle this bird. I was a 3D Artist before getting into CAD, so I use Lightwave to model the fuselage and then create my formers. I then export as DXF to TurboCad where I scale things up and print.

I used Profili to generate a NACA 2415 airfoil which I'm looking to outsource to FlyingFoam.com since I don't trust myself to manually create the wing cores (this'll be my first hand built foam aircraft...so...yeah).

Power wise i'm looking at using an E-Flite Park 280 (1800), which when paired with a GWS 7035 (which is what I used to scale the planes) 3 bladed prop and a 2S battery system should (according to E-Calc) net me around 290g of thrust. I project the aircraft will weigh somewhere in the neighborhood of 200g, or at least that's my goal.

I'm not expecting this build to go fast, and I expect it'll prove a lot more challenging than i'm hoping, but i'm pretty excited. Should be a fun learning experience.

Anyway, enough of all that, here's the WIP image as it stands right now.

V/R

Brad
BradMick is offline Find More Posts by BradMick
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2014, 10:25 PM
Find More Posts by Teddy Ong
Teddy Ong
Joined Nov 2012
600 Posts
Cool! I always loved the 109. Have you decided on a colour scheme yet?
Teddy Ong is online now Find More Posts by Teddy Ong
Old Jan 01, 2015, 12:00 PM
Joined Sep 2007
22 Posts
I'm thinking a more pristine version of this scheme:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-WR2BtrijJ7...53_Boehner.png