Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jun 03, 2014, 05:32 PM
Joined Sep 2011
72 Posts
Discussion
Soaring at the beach in Florida?

I am heading to the Sarasota area right now. I brought a cheap electric glider with me. I am a rookie sailplane user at best but fly large gas planes mostly.
Do you guys have any tips. My thought is that the winds will come in from the gulf and heat as they hit land. Will I hit some crazy thermals? The area we stay is kind of flat so I dong think I an get much slope action. Any ideas???
mchadwick63 is offline Find More Posts by mchadwick63
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 04, 2014, 12:53 AM
Joined Jan 2007
4,682 Posts
I've sloped the berm that goes around Lake Ochecobie, probably spelled it wrong Any way I once sloped the berm at Port Myaka where the St. Lucie hook's up with the lake. I had a friend once almost disappear in a cloud so yes there are thermal's in Florida. There are alot of club's all over the state too. Have a good time.
prodjx is offline Find More Posts by prodjx
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 04, 2014, 08:34 AM
Joined Sep 2011
72 Posts
I will give it a try. Just have to keep the sand out of my tx.

Thanks!
Old Jun 04, 2014, 11:26 AM
Joined Jan 2007
4,682 Posts
I've seen a few video's here on the group's of pilot's slope soaring beach's with very light glider's and DLG. I once did the berm with a vintage Wrist-O-Crat for 20 minutes.
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 06, 2014, 09:27 PM
United States, FL, Port St Lucie
Joined Jul 2013
101 Posts
I sat at a restaurant last week gazing at the pelicans sloping the condos for an hour. From the water at about 30' they would enter the updraft close to the building. They would rise quickly going back and forth in the lift. In no time they would top out and head out to sea. They'd circle and dive for food and come back again at 30'.

Now, a motor would help getting started and as long as the wind blew..........

Of course if you can get to the roof...........