HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 23, 2013, 10:34 AM
Registered User
United States, OH, Dayton
Joined Jan 2007
75 Posts
Question
MCPX mode1

hi all

I have been thinking about getting in heli's. I have flown
airplanes for over 15 years my problem is that I fly mode one
even when I fly helis on the sim I fly them mode one so my cyclic is split between the two sticks.
my question is
1) can I setup a mcpx that way?? I have a dx 7 v1 for radio.
2) I fly, hover, and do light aerobatics on the sim, what are your thoughts on starting with the MCPX I have a feeling I would outgrow the fixed pitch heli really fast.

thank you
mr_eagle6 is offline Find More Posts by mr_eagle6
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:37 AM
Cranky old fart
Balr14's Avatar
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,486 Posts
Mode 1 just swaps left and right stick functions. You are saying you have ailerons on one stick and elevators on the other?

You might be surprised at how much more difficult it is than flying planes. But, an MCPX V2 is quite durable and will handle lots of crashing. The MQx quad would probably be a better starting point.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:57 AM
Registered User
Tucson, Az
Joined Feb 2007
8,449 Posts
Balr14 right on target about MQX. My long time friend has flown fixed wing many years and some heli flying. My MQX made him rethink how easy heli flying is.
Mcp-x is durable to a point and can be pretty quick to get into trouble. Good luck and mode 1 will not be a problem.
dankar04 is offline Find More Posts by dankar04
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 03:37 PM
Registered User
United States, OH, Dayton
Joined Jan 2007
75 Posts
Thank you,


As long as I can set it up as on the sim I should be able to make some crashes LOL
mr_eagle6 is offline Find More Posts by mr_eagle6
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 04:06 PM
Cranky old fart
Balr14's Avatar
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,486 Posts
I don't know what sim you have, but real RC helis don't hover that easy.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 09:24 AM
Registered User
United States, OH, Dayton
Joined Jan 2007
75 Posts
It is real flight and it did take me a long time to get it were i did not crash them.
mr_eagle6 is offline Find More Posts by mr_eagle6
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:55 AM
Cranky old fart
Balr14's Avatar
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,486 Posts
Real flight supports mode 1? Anyway, you definitely need the MQx quad first. It will save you a lot of crash damage and help you develop the response and orientation skills. They are incredibly durable. Then you should be able to handle the MCPx V2 or Blade Nano. They are not easy to fly, compared to a bigger heli. But, they will withstand crashing a lot better and are much easier to repair.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 07:01 AM
Registered User
United States, OH, Dayton
Joined Jan 2007
75 Posts
Hi Balr14

Yea for real flight I had to convert the "transmitter" that came with it to mode one, but the software is setup to do it all mode 1 - 4 .
mr_eagle6 is offline Find More Posts by mr_eagle6
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale V911 Transmitters Mode1 (quantity 2) Maduro Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 2 Mar 28, 2013 10:33 PM
Question Modify FF6 from mode1 to mode2 fuzzchucker Radios 0 Apr 20, 2004 04:35 PM
aerohawk mode1 to mode2 please help keller Micro Helis 7 Apr 18, 2004 11:13 PM
Mode2 or Mode1 for Heli pilots joffacn Electric Heli Talk 4 Jan 03, 2003 09:37 AM
Anyone flying Mode2(plank) Mode1(Heli) Electraflyit Electric Heli Talk 1 Aug 13, 2002 08:10 PM