SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:56 AM
Registered User
Spain
Joined Dec 2010
97 Posts
Hi Kha

I would like to test your code, but I donīt know exactly how can I follow your steps.
I see some codes but I donīt see how I can download it. Itīs copy and paste it in Arduino.
I use to program my multiwii boards with arduino but in this case Iīm lost
Can you give me some light?

Thanks in advance
Ernes is offline Find More Posts by Ernes
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:26 AM
Registered User
kalasatu's Avatar
Finland
Joined Mar 2011
6 Posts
I've been taking the ZIP package from https://github.com/kh4/openLRSng . Just press the ZIP button to download the source code as one archive.
kalasatu is online now Find More Posts by kalasatu
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:18 AM
BEOWULF
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,588 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboSerg View Post
Any chance someone did a range test with stock antennas @ 100mw ?

It would be interesting to see it actually work installed in a plane with video

Anyone actually flew fpv any great distance yet
David22 is offline Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:32 AM
Technoweenie's Avatar
Canada, ON, Welland
Joined Jan 2011
42 Posts
The Aurduino 1.0 version had some major code changes that will cause errors when trying to compile. No worries about hardware... just breaks the code. Here is a post I made about it on FPVUK.

Quote:
Just a heads up to those using the OpenLRS and the various codes (including thUndead's mods - which ROCK btw! ) that loading these into the new release of Arduino 1.0 will cause some things to break . Most users are running Arduino 0.22.

In summary, I had to change all the "Wire.send" to "Wire.write" and change "Wire.receive" to "Wire.read". Also, the "Serial.print" function changed so that it prints individual decimal values. This caused the transparent telemetry function to break as it would send out individual decimal values for each character of ASCII. I changed it to "Serial.write" on both ends and it works great.

Cut and Paste of applicable release notes for Aurduino 1.0

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

* Serial transmission is now asynchronous - that is, calls to
Serial.print(), etc. add data to an outgoing buffer which is transmitted
in the background. Also, the Serial.flush() command has been repurposed
to wait for outgoing data to be transmitted, rather than dropping
received incoming data.

* The behavior of Serial.print() on a byte has been changed to align it
with the other numeric data types. In particular, it will now print
the digits of its argument as separate ASCII digits (e.g. '1', '2', '3')
rather than a single byte. The BYTE keyword has been removed. To send a
single byte of data, use Serial.write() (which is present in Arduino 0022
as well).

* The Wire library has also been modified to use the standard read() and
write() functions instead of send() and receive(). You can also use
print() and println() for outgoing data.
Technoweenie is offline Find More Posts by Technoweenie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:04 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
523 Posts
I don't understand this plug and play wording, I received one just to fool around with, had some extra points so I got it for free. I plugged it in and it worked, so by my definition that is plug and play. 1st thing I noticed is the steps in the servos, this thing is not very precise and very slow, I have no idea if upgraded firmware would solve this but so far I am fearful of actually flying with it. Compared to my dragonlink it's resolution seems like crap.
squishy654 is offline Find More Posts by squishy654
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:18 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,659 Posts
squishy654 make sure you're not flying with anyone else nearby using the stock software as well. If not it will become plug & pray.
IceWind is online now Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:54 PM
18t
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
121 Posts
thanks kalasatu kha and technoweenie for the help, still haven't fully given up but i"m still doing something wrong.
technoweenie, I also started doing the find and replace thing with thundead but realized that I probably didn't know what I was doing. Sounds like I was on the right track though.
18t is offline Find More Posts by 18t
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:19 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
523 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
squishy654 make sure you're not flying with anyone else nearby using the stock software as well. If not it will become plug & pray.
Yeah I understand that, I need to change up the frequencies a bit to feel safer. I usually fly is a pretty busy environment with several other dragonlinks, chainlink and other UHF systems. I am curious how well this system copes with that, lol, if at all...if I get time away from other projects I will test it out on a parkjet or something and pray...lol
squishy654 is offline Find More Posts by squishy654
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:36 PM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,955 Posts
The most important part to change is the 4byte id.

Im planning to add an automatic site analysis and frequency selection on my code. (And also will add support to use tx as scanner)
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:04 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
523 Posts
I already have a pile of ttl adapters, I need to see if I have a 3v ...
squishy654 is offline Find More Posts by squishy654
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 02:38 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
109 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by squishy654 View Post
1st thing I noticed is the steps in the servos, this thing is not very precise and very slow, I have no idea if upgraded firmware would solve this but so far I am fearful of actually flying with it. Compared to my dragonlink it's resolution seems like crap.
Yeah, resolution isn't great... I can't flash mine yet, as I've lost the bit of my AVR cable I cut off to flash various non-pinout equipped systems. Thankfully I've got a multirotor nut mate who's back from holidays next week that I can borrow off. There should be an improvement to the resolution with some firmwares.
lobstermash is offline Find More Posts by lobstermash
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 06:12 AM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,955 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobstermash View Post
Yeah, resolution isn't great... I can't flash mine yet, as I've lost the bit of my AVR cable I cut off to flash various non-pinout equipped systems. Thankfully I've got a multirotor nut mate who's back from holidays next week that I can borrow off. There should be an improvement to the resolution with some firmwares.
AVR cable is not needed for flashin, instead a 'normal 3v3 FTDI' i.e. USB to TTL serial adapter is needed.

I personally use CP2102 based ones.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:51 PM
Registered User
Spain
Joined Dec 2010
97 Posts
Thanks to Kalasatu, I didnīt see the zip file and also to Kha for your code. Iīve installed it and it works very fine at home. I want to test it at the field.
The only thing that not works ok itīs that iīve installed it in a Flytron 1w tx+ Futaba f9 and there is not output signal. The led module doesnīt work.
If I connect the same module with the JR adaptor into a Turnigy 9x, it works ok.
Also if I connect only the PPM signal, power and ground, works ok in the Futaba f9.
Maybe kha knows what happens.
Thanks again
Ernes is offline Find More Posts by Ernes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 07:18 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
937 Posts
any updates?
timtimtim is offline Find More Posts by timtimtim
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:10 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
109 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha View Post
AVR cable is not needed for flashin, instead a 'normal 3v3 FTDI' i.e. USB to TTL serial adapter is needed.

I personally use CP2102 based ones.
I don't have one... They can be programmed with the AVR programmer, can't they? It'll be quicker for me to wait for my buddy to get back than order an FTDI...
lobstermash is offline Find More Posts by lobstermash
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Anyone got a good 433mhz UHF RX Antenna? wamdue FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Feb 24, 2014 02:19 PM
Question 'Sander' 1/4 wave monopole - correct length for 433MHz UHF? Kahnx FPV Equipment 11 Dec 23, 2013 09:19 AM
For Sale Chainlink UHF system + few matching Rx's i3dm FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 22, 2012 06:58 AM
Discussion stiff antenna for 433Mhz UHF Rx ? i3dm FPV Talk 14 Feb 17, 2012 01:25 PM
Sold HK "Orange" Satellite for HK "Orange" Rx rikybob Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Jan 29, 2011 03:19 PM